Official Aras Mumhan Website

Loading Events
  • This event has passed.

Allianz Hurling League Division 1 – Tipperary 1-20 Offaly 0-10

March 13, 2011 @ 2:30 pm - 4:30 pm

Tipperary 1-20 Offaly 0-10

From the web site

Tipperary 1-20 Offaly 0-10

2010 Hurler of the Year Lar Corbett saw action in the second half as Tipperary powered past Offaly in the Allianz Hurling League Divison 1 in Nenagh today. Gearoid Ryan’s 21st-minute goal was the highlight of Tipperary’s first half efforts as they turned around with a 1-09 to 0-08 advantage. The Premier County were bidding for their second successive league win under new manager Declan Ryan and they were quick off the blocks. Joe Bergin, who captained an injury-hit Offaly side, pointed them ahead before a Pa Bourke double and a point from Benny Dunne gave Tipp a 0-03 to 0-01 lead.

The hosts lost their skipper Eoin Kelly to a hand injury but Bourke and Dunne kept the scoreboard ticking over for a 0-06 to 0-04 buffer. Brendan Maher stretched the lead to three points and Tipp increased the tempo courtesy of Ryan’s goal, which came from a powerful run from Patrick Maher. Brian Carroll took over the free-taking duties from the injured Shane Dooley and his three placed balls reduced the arrears for the Faithfuls.

A late point from Michael Cordial made it a four-point game at the break. Carroll did his best to keep Offaly in touch and Tipp’s lead was down to 1-09 to 0-09 briefly. But Ryan’s side dominated the remainder of the match to put the result beyond any doubt. Corbett, who missed the first three league games through injury, was introduced after the break along with James Woodlock.

Tipp’s veteran custodian Brendan Cummins had to be on his toes to save a shot from James Mulrooney, and Rory Hanniffy was doing well to keep tabs on Noel McGrath, one of Tipp’s dangermen. Daniel Currams registered Offaly’s final score and it was all Tipperary after that. Pa Bourke took his tally to 0-07 as the All-Ireland champions climbed above Cork into fifth place in the Division 1 table. Bottom side Offaly are up against it if they are to avoid relegation from the top flight, but their next game against fellow strugglers Wexford offers them a chance they must take.


Tipperary 1-20 Offaly 0-10

Report from the web site

Declan Ryan’s Tipperary appear to have rediscovered their winning touch after a comfortable 1-20 to 0-10 defeat of Offaly in a one-sided game in Nenagh. Having lost their opening two games in the competition, the Premier County have bounced back impressively, securing a second straight win which means a late charge for a place in the final is not beyond the bounds of possibility. Tipperary were impressive throughout and led by four points at the break despite playing into a stiff breeze; Offaly could only add two more points to their total after the break and the home side cruised to a 13-point win.

The All-Ireland champions dominated midfield, with Gearóid Ryan and Brendan Maher particularly impressive, while Pa Bourke stood out in attack with seven points. The only goal of the game came from Gearóid Ryan’s stick after 21 minutes, when he applied the finishing touch after excellent work by Patrick Maher. There were some concerns for last year’s All-Ireland winning captain Eoin Kelly, who left the field with a hand problem, although Hurler of the Year Lar Corbett made his seasonal debut after missing the first three Allianz League games through injury. Injury-hit Offaly are now in a precarious position after a fourth successive Allianz League defeat and their game against fellow strugglers Wexford in two weeks’ time takes on added significance in their battle with the drop.

Team News

The Tipperary Senior Hurling team to play Offaly in the 4th Round of the Allianz Hurling League at Nenagh on Sunday shows 3 changes from the team which started against Waterford last weekend. Loughmore Castleiney’s Eddie Connolly makes his league debut at corner back in place of Paddy Stapleton. Also into the side are Benny Dunne and Eoin Kelly in place of Shane McGrath and Brian O’Meara.

1. Brendan Cummins (Ballybacon-Grange) 2. Michael Cahill (Thurles Sarsfields) 3. Paul Curran (Mullinahone) 4. Eddie Connolly (Loughmore Castleiney) 5. John O’Keeffe (Clonoulty Rossmore) 6. Padraic Maher (Thurles Sarsfields) 7. David Young (Toomevara) 8. Gearóid Ryan (Templederry Kenyons) 9. Brendan Maher (Borris–Ileigh) 10. Benny Dunne (Toomevara) 11. Noel McGrath (Loughmore Castleiney) 12. Patrick Maher (Lorrha & Dorrha) 13. Paul Kelly (Mullinahone) 14. Eoin Kelly (Mullinahone) Captain 15. Pa Bourke (Thurles Sarsfields)


March 13, 2011
2:30 pm - 4:30 pm

GAA Units