2008 Waterford Crystal Cup Senior Hurling Fixtures

The dates and venues for the 2008 Waterford Crystal Cup Senior Hurling competition have been announced. Limerick have given a walkover to the Cork Institute of Technology due to the fact that the Limerick Senior Hurling panel are currently out of the country. On Sunday, Clare play UL while on Thursday under lights at Pairc Ui Rinn, LIT are due to play Cork.

In the first match played in the competition, Waterford defeated the Waterford Institute of Technology by 2-15 to 1-10. Match Report

2008 McGrath Cup Senior Football Final

Clare defeated Limerick by 1-6 to 0-8 in the McGrath Cup Final on Sunday. Match Report

2008 Waterford Crystal Cup Senior Hurling Final

Tipperary defeated Waterford in the Waterford Crystal Cup Final by 3-13 to 0-13. Goals by Eoin Kelly (2) and Lar Corbett helped the Premier County to retain their title.

Corn Ui Mhuiri Quarter-Finals

St. Brendan’s, Killarney 0-10 Colaiste Choilm, Ballincollig 0-9;

PS Choirce Dhuidhne 1-9 Skibbereen 1-6;

Tralee CBS 0-13 St. Flannan’s Ennis 1-5

Munster Council Secretary – Job Advertisement

Rúnaí Cúige – Provincial Secretary
Chief Executive Officer

Suitably qualified persons are invited to apply for the position of Rúnaí Cúige / Provincial Secretary of Comhairle na Mumhan C.L.G. An Rúnaí Comhairle na Mumhan / the Secretary of the Council is the Chief Executive Officer with responsibility for the day-to-day management, ongoing development and administration of the affairs of the Council. Appropriate remuneration package commensurate with the position will apply.Application by C.V. on or before Friday, 1st February 2008 to: An Cathaoirleach, Comhairle na Mumhan, “Áras Mumhan”, Groody Hill, Rhebogue, Limerick.

National Football League Round 1 – Team News

The first round of the Allianz National Football League gets underway this weekend. On Saturday evening, Donegal take on Kerry at Ballybofey while Cork’s match with Meath has been called off. On Sunday, Limerick host Louth in the Gaelic Grounds, Tipperary travel to play Kilkenny while Clare host Carlow in Ennis. All of the Sunday games throw-in at 2:30pm.

KERRY (vs. Donegal) – Diarmuid Murphy; Marc O Se, Tom O’Sullivan, Padraig Reidy; Tommy Griffin, Aidan O’Mahony, Killian Young; Michael Quirke, Seamus Scanlon; Eoin Brosnan, Declan O’Sullivan, Paul Galvin; Sean O’Sullivan, Kieran Donaghy, Bryan Sheehan.
Subs: Kieran Cremin, Tomas O Se, Daniel Bohan, Ronan O Flatharta, Tommy Walsh, David Moran, Donnacha Walsh, Paul O’Connor, Kieran O’Leary, Declan Quill

Dr. Harty Cup Quarter-Finals

Q-Final Replay result – Thurles CBS 0-13 Our Lady’s Templemore 1-8 Match Report

Our Lady’s Templemore 0-12 Thurles CBS 2-6

De La Salle Waterford 3-17 St. Caimins 0-6
Match Report

West Waterford Colleges 5-11 Nenagh CBS 1-18

Ardscoil Ris 3-9 Doon CBS 0-9

National Football League Round 1 – Results

Donegal 1-8 Kerry 1-7

Limerick 1-10 Louth 0-9 Match Report

Carlow 1-12 Clare 0-10

Tipperary 4-20 Kilkenny 1-5 Match Report

National Football League Round 2

The second round in Division 4 of the National Football League takes place on Saturday. Tipperary will play Clare at Ardfinnan while Waterford take on Wicklow at Dungarvan.

National Hurling League Round 1 – Team News

The first round of the Allianz National Hurling League takes place on Sunday. In Division 1, Waterford host Wexford, Clare travel to play Galway, Tipperary and Offaly square up at Semple Stadium while Limerick will take on Laois at the Gaelic Grounds Limerick. Cork’s match with Kilkenny scheduled for Sunday has been called off. In Division 2, Kerry will play Westmeath at Austin Stack Park Tralee.

LIMERICK (SH v Laois): B. Murray; M. O’Riordan, S. Lucey, S. Hickey, P. Lawlor, P. O’Dwyer, D. Clancy; M. O’Brien, D. O’Grady; S. Lavin, O. Moran, A. O’Connor; A. O’Shaughnessy, S. O’Connor, P. Tobin.

CLARE (SH v Galway): P. Brennan; T. Keogh, F. Lohan, C. McMahon; D. Clancy, G. Quinn, B. Bugler; B. O’Connell, J. Clancy; D. Barrett, C. Lafferty, D. O’Rourke; M. Flaherty, N. Gilligan, G. Arthur

TIPPERARY (SH v Offaly): Brendan Cummins (Ballybacon-Grange); Eamonn Buckley (Drom & Inch), Declan Fanning (Killenaule), Paul Curran (Mullinahone); Eamon Corcoran (JK Brackens), Conor O’Mahony (Newport), Benny Dunne (Toomevara); Joe Ceaser (Killenaule), Shane Maher (Burgess); Pat Kerwick (Killenaule), Ryan O’Dwyer (Cashel King Cormacs), John O’Brien (Toomevara), Eoin Kelly (Mullinahone), Lar Corbett (Thurles Sarsfields), Pa Bourke (Thurles Sarsfields)