AIB Munster Junior Club Hurling Championship Semi-Final – Ballyduff Lower (Waterford) 0-14 Ballybacon-Grange (Tipperary) 0-6

Ballyduff Lower (Waterford) defeated Ballybacon-Grange (Tipperary) by 0-14 to 0-6 in the AIB Munster Junior Club Hurling Championship Semi-Final on Saturday November 12th at Walsh Park Waterford.

Busy Ballyduff Lower keep their run going

By Dermot Keyes for the Irish Examiner newspaper

Ballyduff Lower (Waterford) 0-14 Ballybacon-Grange (Tipperary) 0-6: Ballyduff Lower, in action for the third time in a week given their ongoing Waterford JFC campaign, powered into the provincial decider following a comfortable win over Ballybacon-Grange at Walsh Park on Saturday.

Brian Power’s reliability from the dead ball, coupled with four points from play by former inter-county man Jack Kennedy, propelled the Déise men to victory against a Ballybacon outfit who landed just three points from play, and only one during the second-half.

On a day when neither side carried a potent goal threat, Ballyduff led 0-6 to 0-5 at the break, having responded well to Ballybacon’s positive opening, after the Tipp men led by two points inside the opening three minutes.

However, as the match wore on, Ballybacon’s inability to make good on decent territory was punished by Ballyduff’s greater accuracy, as Power and Kennedy ensured their campaign will endure into a Munster Final appearance on December 4th.

Scorers for Ballyduff Lower: Brian Power (0-7f), J Kennedy (0-4), D Reade (0-1), C Lyons (0-1), D Cheasty (0-1).

Scorers for Ballybacon-Grange: B Cummins (0-2; 0-1f, 0-1 65), A Lonergan (0-1f), G Cronin (0-1), D O’Regan (0-1), T Kirwan (0-1).

BALLYDUFF LOWER: M Atkins; M De Paor, J O’Leary, M Millea; Bryan Power, C Lyons, P Kennedy; C Power, Brian Power; C Dunphy, J Kennedy, J Lyons; D Reade, D Cheasty, E Cummins
Subs: R Coffey-O’Shea for E Cummins (49); A Carroll for C Dunphy (59).

BALLYBACON-GRANGE: B Cummins; P Walsh, E Walsh, C Carrigan; A Savage, B Dillon, S Nagle; C O’Gorman, B Hewitt; G Cronin, M O’Sullivan, P Murphy; T Kirwan, A Lonergan, D O’Regan
Subs: M Barlow for T Kirwan and D Boyle for E Walsh (both HT); S Maher for M O’Sullivan (57); B Lonergan for A Lonergan (54); M Ryan for G Cronin (60+).

Referee: J Murphy (Limerick)

Dean Ryan Cup Hurling Final – Thurles CBS 3-13 Coláiste Cholmáin Fermoy 1-19

Thurles CBS and Coláiste Cholmáin Fermoy played out an exciting draw after extra time in the Dean Ryan Cup (Under 16.5 A Hurling) Final on Saturday November 12th at the Gaelic Grounds Limerick – Thurles CBS 3-13 Coláiste Cholmáin Fermoy 1-19.

The replay will take place on Saturday November 19th at 2pm in the Gaelic Grounds Limerick.

Late points save St Colman’s

Report by John Horgan for the Irish Examiner newspaper

Thurles CBS 3-13 St Colman’s, Fermoy 1-19 (aet): Thurles CBS and St Colman’s Fermoy could not be separated despite playing 20 minutes extra-time in the final of the Dean Ryan Cup at the Gaelic Grounds on Saturday.

Click to view photos from the game

The teams were level after 30 minutes, 1-4 to 0-7, with the Thurles goal arriving in the 27th minute from Darren Flood from a penalty after Jack Lanigan had been fouled. Conleith Ryan posted six of the St Colman’s points in that opening half.

They were deadlocked a number of times in the second-half with Thurles banging home a second goal in the 35th minute from Lanigan after being set up by Kieran Moloney.

However, the Fermoy team responded very quickly with a goal from David Morrisson a few minutes later. It was 2-11 to 1-14 after the hour with Thurles securing some good scores from Darragh Tynan, Flood, Lanigan and Jack Morrissey.

James Kearney, Ryan, Eoin Carey and Conor Barry did likewise for Fermoy but there was still no resolution after the hour.

Sub Eoin Purcell delivered a third goal for Thurles in extra-time but points from Brian Roche, Carey and Barry again for St Colman’s ensured that the sides must do it all over again in the replay. In the final analysis it was the right outcome between two very committed sides.

Scorers for St Colman’s: C Ryan 0-10 (0-8f), D Morrisson 1-1, J Kearney, C Barry 0-2 each, E Carey 0-2f, B Roche 0-1, J Molloy 0-1 each.

Scorers for Thurles CBS: D Flood 1-7 (0-5f), J Lanigan 1-1, E Purcell 1-0, D Tynan 0-2, J Morrissey 0-2, K Moloney 0-1.

St COLMAN’S: B Hogan (Bride Rovers), L Aherne (Fermoy), J Scannell (Fermoy), J Mannix (Bride Rovers), D O’Leary (Watergrasshill), E Roche (Bride Rovers, E Buckley (Ballyhooly), E Carey (Kilworth), B Roche (Bride), P O’Flynn (Bride), C Ryan (Bride), J Molloy (Fermoy), D Morrisson (Castlelyons), P O’Leary Watergrasshill), J Kearney (Castlelyons)
Subs: J Kenny (Castlelyons and C Barry Bride Rovers for Buckley and Molloy, D Collins (Ballyhooly for O’Flynn, M Quinn (Bride Rovers) for Kearney, D O’Connor (Castletownroche) for O’Leary, D O’Neill (Castletownroche for D Morrisson.

THURLES CBS: K Bracken (Durlas Og), J Hickey (Emeralds), P Melbourne (Moycarkey-Borris), J Synott (Roscrea), K Hayes (Moycarkey-Borris), Z Johnson (Moycarkey-Borris), K Larkin (Moyne-Templetuohy), K Moloney (Durlas Og), J Morrissey (Moycarkey-Borris), K Ryan (Upperchurch-Drombane), D Flood (Moycarkey-Borris), D Tynan (Roscrea), P Doyle (Galmoy) J Lanigan (Durlas Og), M Hackett (Moycarkey-Borris)
Subs:E Purcell (Durlas Og) for Doyle, E Morris (Holycross) for Lanigan, J Kirwan (Moycarkey-Borris) Moloney, D Ryan (Kickhams) for K Ryan.

Referee: D Fox (Clare)

Click to view photos from the game

Fixture Details

Saturday 12th November @ 1:30pm
Corn an Rianaigh final (16.5 A H)
Coláiste Cholmáin Fermoy V Thurles C.B.S at the Gaelic Grounds Limerick
Referee: Damien Fox
Extra time to be played if necessary

Admission Details

Adults: €5
Students / OAPs: €3

What’s Next?

The winners of this fixture will be scheduled to play the All Ireland Semi-Final on the 19th November 2016.

Dean Ryan Cup Roll of Honour

Click here to view the roll of honour for the Dean Ryan Cup

Paths to the Final

Round 1

Wednesday 21st Sep 2016
Gaelcholáiste Mhuire Thuaigh 3-10 Scoil Na mBraithre` Rathluirc 1-6
CBS Midleton 4-15 Coláiste Iosaef, Kilmallock 0-6

Tuesday 27th Sep 2016
Thurles C.B.S. 2-13 Our Ladys Templemore 1-13 – Match Report / Photos

Wednesday 28th Sep 2016
Árdscoil Rís North Circular Limerick 2-15 Nenagh C.B.S. 1-12 – Match Report / Photos


Tuesday 4th Oct 2016
John The Baptist Community School 5-20 St. Flannans College Ennis 2-10 – Match Report / Photos

Wednesday 5th Oct 2016
Coláiste Cholmáin Fermoy 0-21 De La Salle College Waterford 1-15

Monday 10th Oct 2016
CBS Midleton 2-16 Árdscoil Rís North Circular Limerick 2-11

Friday 14th Oct 2016
Thurles C.B.S. 1-11 Gaelcholáiste Mhuire Thuaigh 0-9 – Match Report / Photos

Wednesday 19th Oct 2016

Thurles C.B.S. 4-24 CBS Midleton 0-8 – Match Report / Photos
Coláiste Cholmáin Fermoy 3-12 John The Baptist Community School 1-12 – Round-up / Photos