Liberty Insurance All-Ireland Senior Camogie Championship Quarter-Final Playoff – Dublin 1-11 Clare 0-12

Dublin defeated Clare by 1-11 to 0-12 in a Liberty Insurance All-Ireland Senior Camogie Championship Quarter-Final Playoff on Saturday August 1st at Semple Stadium Thurles.

Liberty Insurance All-Ireland Senior Camogie Championship Quarter-Final – Cork 2-17 Tipperary 0-10

Cork defeated Tipperary by 2-17 to 0-10 in the Liberty Insurance All-Ireland Senior Camogie Championship Quarter-Final on Saturday August 1st at Semple Stadium Thurles.

All-Ireland champions Cork produced a power-packed second half performance to return to the semi-finals after a 2-17 to 0-10 victory over Tipperary. Cork only had a point to spare when the teams met in the Munster final and this was just as tight in the first half, with the goal just before the interval from Amy O’Connor a critical turning point.

Cáit Devane continued her sharpshooting form of the campaign with five points, augmented by contributions from Mairead Teehan and Gemma Grace that looked likely to send Tipp into the interval leading. Ashling Thompson, Orla Cotter, Orla Cronin and Julia White all kept the Leesiders in touch just two points down before O’Connor made it 1-6 to 0-8.

Paudie Murray’s outfit roared out of the traps in the second half and another goal, this time from Katrina Mackey pushed them four clear. Tipperary had Brid Quinn sent off for a second yellow card soon after and Cork capitalised on the numerical advantage, with O’Connor in particular causing carnage, while Mackey and Briege Corkery also raised whited flags. Devane scored Tipp’s only two points in the second half and not even the late dismissal of Gemma O’Connor, also for a second yellow card, could derail the champs.

Report by Daragh Ó Conchúir

Electric Ireland All-Ireland Minor B Hurling Championship (Peadar Ó Liatháin Cup) Quarter-Final – Kerry 2-19 Kildare 0-13

Kerry defeated Kildare by 2-19 to 0-13 in the Electric Ireland All-Ireland Minor B Hurling Championship (Peadar Ó Liatháin Cup) Quarter-Final on Saturday August 1st at Newbridge.

All Ireland Minor “B” Championship Qtr Final

Kerry 2-19 Kildare 0-13

Kerry were off the mark early with three points from Shane Conway, one a sideline, and two more from Fionán Mackessy to lead by 5 points to 2 after ten minutes of play.
Conway again, from play and a free, extended Kerry’s lead to 7 points to 3 at the end of the first quarter and then Fionán Mackessy and two more from Conway had Kerry 10 to 5 ahead when Colin Sheehy collected a Robert Collins sideline ball and kicked to the net to leave Kerry leading by 1-10 to 0-6 at the break.

Kerry took up where they left off on the resumption with Shane Conway pointing four points in a row before David Egan goaled to leave Kerry leading 2-15 to 0-7 after 42 minutes of play. Kildare did pick off a number of points as Kerry ran the bench but Kerry ran out deserving winners and set up a semi final place on August 15th against Down who were 2-17 to 4-3 winners over Donegal in their quarter final tie.

Kerry Scorers: Shane Conway 0-15 (1 “65”, 9 Frees, 4 play), Fionán MacKessy 0-3, David Egan and Colin Sheehy 1-0 each, Eric Leen 0-1.

Team News

The Kerry Minor Hurling Team to play Kildare in the opening Round of the All Ireland Minor B Hurling Championship in Newbridge at 2pm on Saturday contains six of the side who started in the defeat of Meath in last year’s final – Billy Lyons, Michael Leane, Jason Diggins, Robert Collins, John Buckley, and Fionán MacKessy.

The team, captained by Lixnaw’s John Buckley is as follows:

1 David Silles Lixnaw
2 Billy Lyons Causeway
3 Micheal Leane Ballyheigue
4 Gerard Stackpoole Lixnaw
5 Eoin Ross Ballyduff
6 Jason Diggins Causeway
7 Robert Collins Kilmoyley
8 John Buckley Lixnaw (Capt)
9 Tomas O Conner Crotta O’Neills
10 Shane Conway Lixnaw
11 Jeremy McKenna Lixnaw
12 David Egan Abbeydorney
13 Eric Leen St Brendans
14 Fionan MacKessy St Brendans
15 Colin Sheehy Lixnaw
Fir Ionaid:
16 Robert Silles Lixnaw
17 Colin Browne Crotta O’Neills
18 Kieran O’Regan Kilmoyley
19 Liam Mullins Lixnaw
20 Brian O’Riordan Ballyheigue
21 Jack Lenihan Dr Crokes
22 Ciaran Breen Tralee Parnells
23 Ronan Donovan Abbeydorney
24 Aaron Tompson St Brendans
25 Jason Keane Lixnaw
26 Jamie McGrath Causeway
27 Tom Foley Lixnaw
28 Brandon Barrett Causeway
29 John Mark Foley Kilgarvan
30 Jack Goulding Ballyduff

Bainisteoir: Ian Brick (Kilmoyley)
Roghnoirí: Aidan O’Mahony (St Brendans), Stephen Goggin (Causeway), Jonathan Silles (Causeway)
Physio: Trudy Ryan
Liason Officer: Ger McCarthy

All-Ireland Poc Fada finals

The All-Ireland Poc Fada finals in hurling and camogie will be held on the Cooley Mountains on Saturday August 1st. This will be the 54th running of the event in this scenic setting in Co. Louth. Proceedings will get under way at 11.30am.

Former Tipperary goalkeeper Brendan Cummins extended his All-Ireland Poc Fada Championship winning record on Saturday, winning his ninth title with 57 pocs at Annaverna Mountain, Ravensdale, Co. Louth.

The 40-year-old Ardfinnan man, a five-time All Star and two-time All-Ireland winner, has now won the title five years in a row, having previously won the title in 2004, 2006, 2007 and 2008.

The U16 boys’ champions is Waterford’s Shaun Murray, with Sarah Healy (Galway) taking the girls’ U16 title. The Camogie Association have decided to defer the presentation of the Senior Camogie Competition pending clarification.


Senior Hurling Results
1. Brendan Cummins (Tipperary) – 57 pocs 4m
2. Eoin Reilly (Laois) – 58 pocs 61m
3. Andrew Fahey (Clare) – 58 pocs 60m
4. James Skehill (Galway) – 59 pocs 83m
5. Aaron Murphy (Limerick) – 59 pocs 3m
6. Patrick Kelly (Clare) – 60 pocs 66m
7. Cillian Kiely (Offaly) – 61 pocs 56m
8. Paddy McKillion (Tyrone) – 61 pocs 41m
9. Karol Keating (Down) – 63 pocs 58m
10. Gerard Smith (Louth) – 63 pocs 27m8
11. Noel Fallon (Roscommon) – 64 pocs 49m
11. Keith Raymond (Sligo) – 64 pocs 49m

Senior Camogie
The Camogie Association have decided to defer the presentation of the Senior Camogie Competition pending clarification

U16 Hurling
1. Shaun Murray (Waterford) – 25 pocs 59m
2. Cormac Phillips (Mayo) 26 pocs 65m
3. Padraig Delaney (Laois) 26 pocs 35m
4. Barry O’Mahony (Kerry) – 28 pocs 54m
5. Reece McSorley (Derry) – 29 pocs 22m

U16 Camogie
1. Sarah Healy (Galway) – 32 pocs 33m
2. Áine O’Loughlin (Clare) – 35 pocs 38m
3. Ciara O’Looney (Westmeath) – 36 pocs 30m
4. Ann-Marie Smyth (Down) – 37 pocs 35m

2015 Players

Senior Hurling
Aaron Murphy (Limerick)
Andrew Fahey (Clare)
Brendan Cummins (Tipperary)
Cillian Kiely (Offaly)
Eoin Reilly (Laois)
Gerard Smith (Louth)
Karol Keating (Down)
Keith Raymond (Sligo)
Noel Fallon (Roscommon)
Paddy McKillion (Tyrone)
Patrick Kelly (Clare)

U16 Hurling
Cormac Phillips (Mayo)
Barry O’Mahony (Kerry)
Padraig Delaney (Laois)
Reece McSorley (Derry)
Shaun Murray (Waterford)

Senior Camogie
Aisling Corbett (Clare)
Catherine McGourty (Down)
Catríona Daly (Galway)
Elaine Gallery (Dublin)
Patricia Jackman (Waterford)

U16 Camogie
Ann-Marie Smyth (Ulster)
Sarah Healy (Connacht)
Les Sutton (Leinster)
Áine O’Loughlin (Munster)