Buy or Renew your GAA Season Ticket for 2019 now

Limerick Senior Hurling Final – Kilmallock 1-15 Na Piarsaigh 0-14

Kilmallock defeated Na Piarsaigh by 1-15 to 0-14 in the Limerick Senior Hurling Final on Sunday October 19th at the Gaelic Grounds Limerick.

Cork Senior Football Final – Ballincollig 1-13 Carbery Rangers 1-10

Ballincollig defeated Carbery Rangers by 1-13 to 1-10 in the Cork Senior Football Final on Sunday October 19th at Pairc Ui Chaoimh.

Epic turnaround gives Ballincollig their first title

Ballincollig 1-13 Carbery Rangers 1-10 (Cork SFC Final)

Report from the Irish Independent newspaper

An excellent second-half fightback saw Ballincollig claim the Cork senior football title for the first time at Páirc Uí Chaoimh. Having trailed by seven points at one stage in the first half, six points in a row meant they only trailed by the minimum at half-time. A 32nd-minute goal from Carbery Rangers’ Séamus Hayes looked to have settled them again, but Ballincollig would concede just one more point for the remainder of the match.

John Kelly’s goal in the 40th minute drew Michael O’Brien’s side level and from there they finished strongly. Playing with the stiff wind in the first half, Carbery Rangers scored six points in the opening 11 minutes of the game as Ballincollig struggled to find any kind of a rhythm. While a pair of frees from Cian Dorgan got them off the mark, it looked to only be a brief interruption to their opponents’ dominance.

A close-range John Hayes free, a good point from his brother Séamus and a ’45 from full-back Brian Shanahan made it 0-9 to 0-2 for Carbery Rangers and they were cruising. In the eight minutes between then and half-time, though, they conceded six points in a row as Ballincollig effected a near-total transformation.

Dorgan, with a point from play, kick-started the fightback and he scored two more with Seán Kiely, Niall Allen and Luke Prendergast also on target. Within two minutes of the restart Carbery Rangers found a goal. Pádraig Hodnett was allowed to maraud forward and though his crashing shot came back off the bar, Seámus Hayes was able to fist home.

Ballincollig heads didn’t drop, though. John Paul Murphy set up Ciarán O’Sullivan for a point and then Cork star Patrick Kelly’s quick free allowed George Durrant to find Kelly’s brother John and his finish was brilliant, low across Paul Shanahan to level at 1-9 apiece.

Carbery sub Seán O’Neill put his side ahead again on 43 but they wouldn’t score again. In contrast, Ballincollig kept their composure and points from sub Ian Coughlan (two), Cian Dorgan and Cian Kelly had them three points ahead going into injury time. There was a late penalty shout for Carbery Rangers but a ’45 was the decision and Ballincollig held out.

Scorers – Ballincollig: C Dorgan 0-6 (4f), J Kelly 1-0, I Coughlan (2f), C Kiely 0-2 each, L Prendergast, S Kiely, N Allen, C O’Sullivan 0-1 each.

Carbery Rangers: S Hayes 1-2, J Hayes 0-3 (2f), B Shanahan 0-2 (’45s), J O’Rourke, S O’Neill, S Murray 0-1 each.

BALLINCOLLIG – D Lordan; L Prendergast, L Jennings, N Galvin; JP Murphy, S O’Donoghue, C Kiely; S Kiely, C O’Sullivan; N Allen, P Kelly, G Durrant; J Kelly, C Dorgan, J Miskella. Subs: A Donovan for S Kiely (42, inj), I Coughlan for J Kelly (47), S Kiely for Allen (50), R Noonan for C Kiely (60, BC).

CARBERY RANGERS – P Shanahan; S Murray, B Shanahan, M Kelly; P Hodnett, T O’Rourke, J O’Riordan; K MacMahon, J Fitzpatrick; A Jennings, B Hodnett, J O’Rourke; J Hayes, S Hayes, D Hayes. Subs: M Mennis for B Hodnett (h-t), S O’Neill for Fitzpatrick (42, inj), A Roche for T O’Rourke, T O’Donoghue for S Hayes (both 57).

Ref – J Bermingham (Bride Rovers)

Waterford Senior Football Final – The Nire 0-11 Stradbally 0-6

The Nire defeated Stradbally by 0-11 to 0-6 in the Waterford Senior Football Final on Sunday October 19th at Fraher Field Dungarvan.

Gleeson hero as The Nire’s courage gets just reward

By Tomás McCarthy for the Irish Examiner newspaper

The Nire 0-11 Stradbally 0-6

Waterford SFC Final: The Conway Cup rests in the Nire Valley for the seventh time after a six year absence was broken at a windswept Fraher Field yesterday. Waterford minor and man of the match Conor Gleeson lit up the stage and kicked five points from play in his first county final appearance.

The Ballymacarbry side had lost two finals, two semi finals and a quarter final since 2008 but directed that hurt into a huge performance. They also buried a miserable run of final results against their old foes Stradbally. “We have been knocking on the door so long,” said an out of breath Liam Lawlor at full time. “This is a reward for all the effort, all the work and all of the hill runs.

He also applauded the contribution of the 18 year old superstar up front. “John Kiely said this week that Conor Gleeson is the best minor footballer in the country and he’s right. He proved it out there today. John is a great friend of mine, the only thing he got wrong was that he predicted a Stradbally win!”

This total team performance relied heavily on savage work rate and midfield dominance. It turned out to be the survival of the fittest between two old enemies. The warrior-like Michael O’Gorman (with a bandage around his head) disrupted Stradbally under the high ball and put in a massive amount of hard graft.

He was ably assisted by Shane Walsh, Craig Guiry and Brian Wall. The defence squeezed the life out of Stradbally. They only conceded two points from play and the Reds failed to register for 22 minutes. Thomas O’Gorman held Shane Ahearne scoreless and Justin Walsh made a decisive block on Ger Power in the second half. Captain Shane Ryan led by example with four successful frees and Jamie Barron covered every blade of grass.

The Nire played with a furious breeze towards the road goal for the first thirty and were 0-6 to 0-2 in front at half-time. Benji Whelan’s men laid down the terms of engagement. Maurice O’Gorman moved to centre forward to pick up Michael Walsh and Brian Wall pushed up on sweeper John Coffey. They won the midfield war with Michael O’Gorman collecting a rake of breaking ball.

Stradbally slipped 0-2 to 0-1 ahead with points from Michael Sweeney and Shane Ahearne but The Nire blasted five on the spin in five minutes during the second quarter. Liam Lawlor started off that run after combining with Craig Guiry. Gleeson shot two classy scores within a minute off left and right. The lionheart O’Gorman drove forward to add another before Ryan clipped over a free. Stradbally dominated the tail end of the half but missed three frees.

Gleeson continued to cause carnage on the restart. He shredded marker Paddy Doyle for pace and shot an early point to stretch the lead to five and then earned a free that Ryan converted. Stradbally weren’t finished yet as Michael Walsh and the bubbly Michael Sweeney attempted a recovery. Two David Grey frees, one from Shane Ahearne and a long range Andy Doyle effort closed the gap to three entering the home straight (0-9 to 0-6).

Gleeson put the game to sleep four minutes from the end and sealed his individual award. Captain Ryan returned an injury time free to extinguish the pain for the men in blue and gold.

Scorers for The Nire: C Gleeson 0-5; S Ryan 0-4 (4fs); L Lawlor, Michael O’Gorman 0-1 each.

Scorers for Stradbally: D Grey (2fs), S Ahearne (2fs) 0-2 each; A Doyle, M Sweeney 0-1 each.

THE NIRE: T Wall; J Walsh, T O’Gorman, T Cooney; D Wall, B Wall, S Lawlor; S Walsh, C Guiry; Michael O’Gorman, Maurice O’Gorman, J Barron; L Lawlor, S Ryan, C Gleeson.
Subs: M Moore for C Guiry (41); J Guiry for J Walsh (56); K Guiry for Maurice O’Gorman (56); A Lawlor for L Lawlor (61).

STRADBALLY: E Cunningham; K Coffey, S Lannon, P Doyle; J Mullaney, M Walsh, L Casey; P Kiely, R Ahearne; T Connors, J Coffey, G Power; M Sweeney, S Ahearne, D Grey.
Subs: A Doyle for Casey (30); K Lawlor for P Doyle (37).

Referee: D O’Leary