Fitzgibbon Cup Semi-Final – WIT 2-21 LIT 3-17

Waterford Institute of Technology defeated the Limerick Institute of Technology in the Irish Daily Mail  Fitzgibbon Cup Semi-Final on Friday February 28th at Queens University Belfast.

Waterford IT into Fitzgibbon final after thriller

Report by Orla Bannon for 

IDM Fitzgibbon Cup Semi-Final: Limerick IT 3-17 Waterford IT 2-21 (AET)

WIT staged a remarkable comeback from ten points down to beat Limerick IT after extra-time in Friday’s first Fitzgibbon Cup semi-final in Belfast. Ballygunnar’s Pauric Mahony hit an incredible 0-16, all but one from placed balls, with 12 of those points coming in normal time, but it was full-forward Jake Dillon who hit the winning point for WIT three minutes before the end of extra-time.

LIT manager Davy Fitzgerald will wonder how he let this one get away from him as his side led by 1-15 to 0-8 after 39 minutes and looked totally comfortable. Cathal McInerney got the only goal of the first-half after 25 minutes after a lovely turn and low finish to the net to give LIT a 1-12 to 0-6 lead at half-time. WIT were reliant on frees from Pauric Mahony and Cathal Kenny got their only other point from play.

Even though the Waterford college had the wind in the second-half, LIT stretched their lead further with points from Alan Dempsey, Philip Ivors and Paul Flaherty to take a commanding nine point lead with 21 minutes to go. WIT sprang to life however, and hit 1-7 without reply in the second-half.

Harry Kehoe got the first of two goals for WIT in the 46th minute to ignite the fightback and with Mahony punishing every LIT foul with unerring free-taking, WIT drew level at 1-15 each with two minutes remaining. In an exciting finish, there was still time for two late goals before the game went to extra-time. Clare’s Cathal McInerney thought he’d won it for LIT when he kicked the ball into the net with only 51 seconds remaining, after a great catch by Philip Ivors to set up the chance. WIT goalkeeper Stephen O’Keefe instantly shrugged off the disappointment of conceding a last minute goal and launched the ball long. LIT goalkeeper Aaron Murphy came off his line and batted the sliotair down straight into the path of Harry Kehoe who pulled on it brilliantly first time from 30 yards out and the ball flew into the net seconds before the hooter sounded. 

The sides still could not be separated at half-time in extra-time, Tony Kelly with LIT’s third goal drawing them level at 3-16 to 2-19 at the break. The sides traded points before Dillon’s late winner put WIT through to tomorrow’s final.


Scorers for LIT: T Kelly 1-5 (4f), C McInerney 2-2, J Shanahan, A Dempsey 0-3 each, P Flaherty 0-2, P Ivors, P Begley 0-1 each

Scorers for WIT: P Mahony 0-16 (13f, 2 ‘65s’), H Kehoe 2-1, E Murphy 0-2, C Kenny, J Dillon 0-1 each

LIMERICK IT: A Murphy; S O’Gorman, M Minehan, C Nolan; P Kileen, E Boyce, B O’Connell; P Flaherty, A Dempsey; T Kelly, P Begley, M Gennery; P Ivors, C McInerney, J Shanahan. Subs: S McGrath for Kileen (46), P Hickey for Gennery (59)

WATERFORD IT: S O’Keefe; G Teehan, P Gahan, J Maher; T Hamill, J O’Dwyer, S Murphy; S Roche, C Kenny; H Kehoe, P Mahony, E Murphy; L McGrath, J Dillon, G O’Brien. Subs: J Langton for Kenny (44)

REFEREE: Brian Gavin



Match Preview

Fitzgibbon Cup Semi-Final – Cork IT 1-17 UCC 0-19

University College Cork will play the Cork Institute of Technology in the Irish Daily Mail Fitzgibbon Cup Semi-Final on Friday February 28th at 4:30pm in Queens University Belfast.

Cork IT to face WIT in Fitzgibbon Final

Report from the GAA,ie web site

IDM Fitzgibbon Cup Semi-Final: Cork IT 1-17 UCC 0-19

Cork IT got revenge on UCC with the narrowest of wins in the Fitzgibbon Cup semi-final in Belfast on Friday. They will face WIT in the final, after they defeated LIT in the first semi-final earlier in the day. UCC beat Cork IT in the competition in each of the last two years, including the 2012 final after extra-time, but Cork IT survived an almighty scare to cling on to victory this time. Inspired by Tipperary’s John O’Dwyer, Cork IT led by 1-12 to 0-7 at half-time with skipper John Cronin getting the only goal of the game in the 28th minute.

They stretched that lead out to nine points in the second minute of the second-half but UCC came roaring back into the game with Conor Lehane hitting seven points, six from frees, in the second period. UCC hit ten points without reply between the third and 22nd minutes. Colm Spillane put them briefly in the lead with 52 minutes gone and Cork IT must have feared a third defeat on the trot to their city rivals. However they responded brilliantly to going behind for the first time since the 16th minute of the match with substitute Kevin O’Connor levelling the scores again.

Lehane drove through the tackles to score his only point from play to again put UCC noses in front again but Cork IT scored three of the last four points to squeeze through. Alan Cadogan levelled the scores with his second point of the match after 57 minutes and O’Dwyer, who was joint top-scorer with Lehane with eleven points, hit the winning frees two minutes from the end to set up a final against WIT.


Scorers for Cork IT: J O’Dwyer 0-11 (0-7f, one ‘65’), J Cronin 1-2, D Drake 0-2, K O’Connor, K Hallissey 0-1 each

Scorers for UCC: C Lehane 0-11 (9f), A Cadogan, S Harnedy 0-2 each, P Sullivan, P Prendergast, C Spillane, J Barron 0-1 each

CORK IT: S Nylan; S Murphy, A Dennehy, T Lawrence; E Keane, M Ellis, P Butler; M O’Sullivan, J Coughlan; J O’Dwyer, J Cronin, C Hammersley; B Cooper, D Dooley, D Drake. Subs: K O’Connor for Dooley (46), W Murphy for O’Sullivan (51), K Hallissey for Coughlan (56).

UCC: D McCarthy; S Maher, D Glynn, P Sullivan; J Barry, P Prendergast, C Murphy; B Murray, A Cadogan; S Harnedy, D McCormack, R O’Shea; W Griffin, C Lehane, J Barron. Subs: C Spillane for Maher (37), S O’Donnell for Griffin (46), B Lawton for McCormack (53).

REFEREE: Alan Kelly (Galway)

Match Preview