Munster Under 17 Football Competition Plate Final – Limerick 4-8 Waterford 0-10

In the Plate Final on Monday, Limerick defeated Waterford by 4-8 to 0-10 at St. Molleran’s GAA Grounds. With wind assistance, Limerick raced in to 1-3 to 0-1 lead after 15 minutes. Waterford added three more points before the interval but a second Limerick goal ensured they led by 2-4 to 0-4 at half-time. Limerick scored two more goals early in the second half to ensure the result was never in doubt but Waterford to their credit scored a number of good points in the final stages to reduce the deficit. After the game Munster Council Vice-Chairman Jerry O’Sullivan presented the Plate to Limerick’s Killian Ryan.

Limerick – Andy Brouder (Newcastlewest); Sean Murphy (Newcastlewest), Brendan Stack (Gerald Griffins), Mark Reidy (Croom); Sean Ivess (Newcastlewest), Cormac Flanagan (Crecora), Killian Ryan (Mungret, Captain); Mickey Morrissey (St Mary’s/Sean Finns), Darragh Noonan (Gerald Griffins, 0-2); Fiachra O’Grady (Oola, 1-0), Stephen Brosnan (Monagea), Conor Burke (Crecora, 1-1); Kieran Daly (Na Piarsaigh, 2-3), Ciaran Brouder (Monagea), Shane McNamara (Galtee Gaels, 0-1)

Subs used: Raymond Noonan (St Kierans), Chris Dunford (Mungret), Colm Nicol (Ballybricken/Bohermore), David Hanley (Ballysteen), Ross Kennedy (Murroe/Boher, 0-1), Declan Guerin (Ballysteen)

Waterford – Paul Curran; John Havens, Jack Curry, James Cuad; Donnchadha Kirwin, Michael Cronin, Darren McGuckian; Michael Kiely, Mark Roynayne; David Looby, 0-5, Gearóid Hearne, Conor Murray, 0-3; Paul Tobin, Pay Whyte, Michael Sweeney, 0-2

Subs – Neil Phelan, Mark Mulvihill, Diarmuid Gallagher

Referee – Sean Lonergan (Tipperary)

Daryl Darcy Cup (Munster Under 17 Football) Final – Clare 1-15 Tipperary 0-7

Clare captured the Daryl Darcy Cup (Munster Under 17 Football) on Monday thanks to a 1-15 to 0-7 victory over Tipperary at the Gaelic Grounds Limerick. With the assistance of the strong wind in the first half, Clare took control early on and raced in to a five point lead before their full-forward and captain Michael Duffy dispatched a penalty to the net. By the interval, Clare were in a commanding 1-9 to 0-2 lead. Any hopes of a Tipperary comeback failed to materialise as the Banner County defended resolutely during the second half and by the final whistle, Clare were 11 points in front. Afterwards, Munster Council Chairman Robert Frost presented the Daryl Darcy Cup to the Clare captain Michael Duffy.

Clare: Eoin O’Kelly (Cratloe); Liam Tierney (St Breckans), Pierce Lillis (Cooraclare), Conor Downes (Naomh Eoin); Darren Nagle (Liscannor, 0-2), James Woods (Eire Og Ennis), Cian O’Dea (Kilfenora); Eoin Hanrahan (St. Joseph’s Doora Barefield), Dara Walsh (Eire Og Ennis, 0-1); Niall McCarthy (Lissycasey), Keelan Sexton (Kilmurray Ibrickane, 0-4, 0-1 free), Conall O’Hainifein (Eire Og Ennis, 0-3); Sean Malone (Miltown), Micheal Duffy (Kilfenora, Captain, 1-3, 1-1 frees), Eimhin Courtney (Eire Og Ennis, 0-2)

Subs – Nigel Murray (O’Curry’s) for Micheal Duffy, Eoin Callinan (Kilmihil) for Niall McCarthy, Maccon Byrne (St Breckans) for Sean Malone, Conor Magner (Naomh Eoin), Alan Sweeney (St Breckans), Cathal Downes (O’Curry’s), James Murphy (Naomh Eoin), Gary Meaney (Coolmeen)

Tipperary: Jack Brady (Ballina); Ross Dennehy (Clonmel Commercials), Liam Ryan (Clonmel Commercials), Faolain Linnane (Thurles Sarsfields); Stephen Kelly (Clonmel Commercials), Willie Connors (Kildangan), Danny Owens (Moyle Rovers); Jack Kennedy (Clonmel Commercials), Stephen Quirke (Moyle Rovers); Ross Peters (Clonmel Commercials), Padraig White (Clonmel Commercials), Emmett Moloney (Drom & Inch); Liam Duffy (Newport), Shane Lonergan (Moyle Rovers), Darren McGrath (Galtee Rovers)

Subs: Michael O’Connor (Cahir) for Jack Kennedy, Jamie Bergin (Drom & Inch) for Stephen Kelly, Brian Norris (Moyle Rovers) for Ross Peters, Billy McCarthy (Thurles Sarsfields) for Emmett Moloney, Colm O’Shaughnessy (Ardfinnan) for Willie Connors

Referee – Seamus Mulvihill (Kerry)