Dean Ryan Cup Under 16 1/2 A Hurling Semi-Final – Ard Scoil Ris 4-15 Our Lady’s Templemore 1-16

Ard Scoil Ris defeated Our Lady’s Templemore by 4-15 to 1-16 after extra time in the Dean Ryan Cup Under 16 1/2 A Hurling Semi-Final on Monday October 21st at MacDonagh Park Nenagh.

Munster Under 17 Football Competition – Tipperary 1-13 Limerick 1-6

Daryl Darcy Munster U17 Football Tournament

Tipperary 1-13 Limerick 1-6

In a well contested game in Dr Morris Pk Thurles, on Monday night 21st October Tipperary booked their passage to the final of the Daryl Darcy Under 17 Football Tournament by virtue of a well deserved and hard fought victory over Limerick. The win was fashioned in the first half as Tipperary got out of the blocks and shot into a 5 point lead with good points from Liam Duffy, Michael O’Connor and Jack Kennedy all from play added to by two points from Padraig White, one play and one free. A well worked goal from Darren McGrath put Tipperary in to a commanding 1-5 to 0-2 point lead going into the closing stages of the opening half. Full credit to Limerick who responded with points from Jonathan Lyons, Kieran Browder and Ciaran Kelly and following a good up field Limerick move, Tipperary conceded a penalty which Conor Burke dispatched to the net with confidence. Tipperary got back on track with points from Padraig White, two frees, Michael O’Connor and Tommy Nolan all from play. Tipperary led at half time 1-9 to 1-3.

The second half followed the same pattern as the first with Tipp getting off the mark early with scores from Michael O’Connor and Padraig White. Limerick however had a very productive spell hitting three unanswered points and when a further penalty was awarded they looked to be gaining momentum. The penalty however was well saved by Jack Brady in the Tipperary goal and Tipperary regained composure. Further points from Padraig White, Darren McGrath and corner back Faolainn Linnane Tipperary eased out to their well deserved victory.

Conditions were wet and windy which made handling difficult but all credit to both sides for serving up a game of quality with great scores, good team play all played in a very competitive but sporting atmosphere. In the other game played on Monday night, Clare recorded a 1-8 to 0-9 victory over Waterford in a match played in Clonoulty. Tipperary now go forward to the Daryl Darcy Cup final against Clare while Limerick and Waterford will contest the plate final.

Tipperary: Jack Brady, Ross Dennehy, Danny Owens, Faolainn Linnane, Stephen Kelly, Willie Connors, Brian Norris, Stephen Quirke, Jack Kennedy, Michael O’Connor, Padraig White, Tommy Nolan, Liam Duffy, Stephen Lonergan, Darren McGrath
Subs: Billy McCarthy, Colm O’Shaughnessy and Anthony Leahy

Limerick: Andy Brouder, Brendan Stack, Stephen Brosnan, Killian Ryan, Cormac Flanagan, Fiacra o Grady, Tommy Childs, Sean Ivfss, Jonathan Lyons, Conor Burke, Mikey Morrissey, Gary McCarthy, Ciaran Brouder, Kieran Kelly

Referee – James Bermingham (Cork)

Munster Under 17 Football Competition – Clare 1-8 Waterford 0-9

Clare 1-8 Waterford 0-9

After suffering two heavy defeats against Limerick and Tipperary, the Waterford Under 17 Footballers faced an uphill task against an unbeaten Clare side in Clonoulty on Monday night. However a much improved Waterford display with great work rate and intensity in the play was almost enough to beat the Banner boys.

Playing against a strong breeze, Waterford trailed by 0-7 to 0-1 at half time having missed a golden opportunity for a goal just before the break. With the wind at their back Waterford were hoping for a bright start to the second half. However Clare struck for an early goal from full-forward Niall Murray to increase their interval lead. Despite this set-back, Waterford took control of the game in the third quarter and picked off some excellent scores with all eight of their second half points coming from play. Waterford could not find the goal required to take the lead and when the Decies were reduced to 14 men in the final minutes, Clare held out for victory.

Both sides are to be complimented on playing good football in hard conditions helped by the good condition of the Clonoulty pitch.

Waterford: Paul Curran (St Oliver’s, 0-1); John Havens (Dungarvan), John Frampton (Sacred Heart), John Elsted (Ballinacourty); Diarmuid Gallagher (Brickey Rangers), Conor Prunty (Ballinacourty, 0-2), Darren McGuckian (Stradbally); Michael Kiely (St Oliver’s), Mark Roynayne (St Oliver’s); David Looby (Ballinacourty, 0-1), Pat Whyte (Kilrossanty, 0-1), James Coad (De La Salle, 0-1); Shane Stafford (Sacred Heart), Michael Sweeney (Stradbally, 0-2), Paul Tobin (Stradbally, 0-1)

Subs – Sean Cullinane (Affane/Cappoquin) for Paul Curran, Cormac Dwyer (Ballinacourty) for Shane Stafford

Clare: Eoin O’Kelly (Cratloe); Liam Tierney (St. Breckans Lisdoonvarna), Conor Downes (Naomh Eoin), Gary Meaney (Coolmeen); Pierce Lillis (Cooraclare), Darren Nagle (Liscannor), Cian O’Dea (Kilfenora, 0-1); Eoin Callinan (Kilmihil), Eoin Hanrahan (St. Josephs Doora Barefield); Michael Duffy (Kilfenora, 0-1), Cathal Downes (O’Currys, 0-2), Sean Malone (St. Josephs Miltown Malbay, 0-3); Davy Foran (Killimer), Nigel Murray (O’Currys, 1-0), Keelan Cunningham (Killimer, 0-1)

Subs used – Conor Tevlyn (Naomh Eoin), Alan Sweeney (St. Breckans), James Murphy (Naomh Eoin)

Referee – David Grogan (Tipperary)