All-Ireland Senior Camogie Championship Semi-Final – Wexford 2-11 Cork 1-9

Wexford defeated Cork by 2-11 to 1-9 in the All-Ireland Senior Camogie Championship Semi-Final on Saturday at Nowlan Park Kilkenny.


TG4 All-Ireland Ladies SFC quarter-final – Kerry 3-11 Mayo 0-10

TG4 All-Ireland Ladies SFC quarter-final

Kerry 3-11 Mayo 0-10

By Jackie Cahill at St Brendan’s Park, Birr

BEATEN Munster finalists Kerry produced a strong second half performance against Connacht champions Mayo at St Brendan’s Park in Birr on Saturday afternoon to book a place in the semi-finals of the TG4 All-Ireland Ladies senior football championship for the second successive year. Just a point separated the two teams when the met in last year’s qualifiers but Kerry emerged victorious with ten points to spare on this occasion. Mayo had a seven-point haul from Cora Staunton but the Westerners, who trailed by 0-6 to 1-6 at half-time, managed just a single point from play in the second half, scored by substitute Amy Bell.

Kerry, impressive winners against last year’s All-Ireland intermediate champions Donegal last weekend, were in good form again with Deirdre Corridan, a late call up in place of Maria Quirke, catching the eye with a haul of 1-2 crowning a hard-working display. But it was Louise Ní Mhuircheartaigh’s goal in the 22nd minute that put some breathing space between the teams in the opening half, helping Kerry to lead by three points at the break. Ní Mhuircheartaigh collected a pass from Louise Galvin and slotted a low shot past Yvonne Byrne for the first of three Kingdom goals.

Five minutes after half-time, Lorraine Scanlon was credited with Kerry’s second goal as she got the faintest of touches to divert fellow midfielder and team captain Bernie Breen’s accurate delivery past Byrne. And in the 46th minute, Corridan made the game safe for Kerry with her side’s third goal and again, it was a flowing move from William O’Sullivan’s team that cut through Mayo. Sarah Houlihan finished with a 0-5 haul for Kerry but overall, this was an impressive team display and even wing back Denise Hallissey got in on the act, bombing forward for two points from play. Mayo struggled desperately for scores and to break down a resolute Kerry defence, with Jason Taniane’s team registering just six points from play. It’s been a disappointing season for Mayo, who despite winning the Connacht championship, were also relegated from Division 1 of the Bord Gáis Energy National Football League before bowing out of the championship in tame fashion.

Scorers for Mayo: C Staunton 0-7 (4f), A Gilroy, C Hegarty & A Bell 0-1 each.

Scorers for Kerry: D Corridan 1-2, S Houlihan 0-5 (2f), L Ní Mhuircheartaigh 1-1, L Scanlon 1-0, D Hallissey 0-2, P Dennehy 0-1.

MAYO: Y Byrne; L Ryder, C Hanahoe, D McDonagh; N Hurst, M Carter, N Tierney; C Egan, F McHale; S Cafferky, A Gilroy, K Sullivan; C Hegarty, C Staunton, L Cafferky.

Subs: C McManaman for S Cafferky (45), A Bell for McDonagh (45), A Roddy for Hegarty (60), G Kelly for Gilroy (60+1).

KERRY: E Murphy, C Kelly, A Leonard, A Lyons; D Hallissey, A Desmond, S.J. Joy; L Scanlon, B Breen; D Corridan, M O’Donoghue, L Galvin; S Houlihan, P Dennehy, L Ní Mhuircheartaigh.

Subs: S Corkery for Ní Mhuircheartaigh (49), L Cronin for Dennehy (49), M O’Connell for Scanlon (56), M Quirke for Galvin (58), C Reen for O’Donoghue (60+1).

Referee: P Kehoe (Carlow)

All-Ireland Intermediate Hurling Championship Semi-Final – Clare 2-18 Galway 2-9

Clare battle back after terrible start

Clare 2-18 Galway 2-9

By Gerry Quinn for the Irish Examiner newspaper

Monday, August 15, 2011

A SPIRITED Clare bounced back from a horror start to win Saturday’s exciting All-Ireland IHC semi-final at Cusack Park, Ennis. The outcome appeared sealed inside two minutes by which time Brian Murphy and Kevin Keehan had plundered Galway goals. However, Clare kept their cool and were rewarded in the 4th minute when Pádraig Hickey netted for the hosts. After the thundering start the game then settled as both sides reeled off points with Galway maintaining a narrow lead at the break (2-7 to 1-7).

Clare veteran Niall Gilligan narrowed the gap on the restart before Joe O’Leary (‘65) and a Keehan free in the 38th minute had Galway four clear. Remarkably, it was to be their last score as they capitulated to a hungrier home outfit. Gilligan was in fine form and a haul of 1-4 from play by Hickey secured him the man of the match award. Clare hit 1-8 without reply with substitute Joe O’Connor netting deep in injury-time.

Clare manager Kevin Kennedy never doubted his side despite the concession of those early goals: “We didn’t panic and we haven’t panicked all year. It was a small bit of a worry but we settled down. The boys (Ronan Keane and Shane Golden) got on top in midfield while ‘Gilly’ came out to centre-forward and we started getting on top.”

Scorers for Clare: N Gilligan (0-8) 4 f’s, 2 ‘65’s, P Hickey (1-4), J O’Connor (1-0), T Carmody (0-2), M Duggan, S Golden, R Keane, K Dilleen (0-1).

Scorers for Galway: K Keehan (1-6) 0-4 f’s, B Murphy (1-2), J O’Leary (0-1) ‘65.

CLARE: A Fahy, M Earley, P Kelly, A Brigdale, K Moynihan, M Hawes, J Fennessy, R Keane, S Golden, M Duggan, T Carmody, K Dilleen, D O’Rourke, N Gilligan, P Hickey.

Subs: J O’Connor for O’Rourke (39).

GALWAY: K O’Grady, A Leech, D McClearn, P Holland, J O’Leary, D Hayes, B Mahoney, K Brady, N Callanan, F Healy, K Kilkenny, E Concannon, C Kavanagh, K Keehan, B Murphy.

Subs: J Cooney for Concannon (22), B Hanley for Kavanagh (27), K Burke for Callanan (33), M Corcoran for Hanley (49), R Gantley for Kilkenny (56).

Referee: T Carroll (Offaly)