Bord Gáis Energy GAA Hurling All-Ireland Under 21 ‘B’ Championship Semi-Final – Kerry v Fermanagh

Kerry will play Fermanagh in the Bord Gáis Energy GAA Hurling All-Ireland Under 21 ‘B’ Championship Semi-Final on Saturday August 21st at 1:15pm in Pearse Stadium Galway.

Fixture Details

21.08.2010 (Sat)
Bord Gáis Energy GAA Hurling All-Ireland Under 21 ‘B’ Championship Semi-Final

Pearse Stadium 1.15 pm    
Ciarraí v Fear Manach
Referee: Sean Whelan (Loch Garman) 
(E.T. if Necessary)

Bord Gais All-Ireland Under 21 Hurling Championship Semi-Final – Tipperary 2-32 Antrim 1-7

Tipperary defeated Antrim by 2-32 to 1-7 in the Bord Gais All-Ireland Under 21 Hurling Championship Semi-Final on Saturday in O’Connor Park Tullamore.

Tipperary cruise through to U-21 hurling final

From the web site

All-Ireland U-21 HC semi-final

Tipperary 2-32 Antrim 1-7, Tullamore

Tipperary registered 15 wides but it mattered little as they easily saw off the challenge of Antrim in the first of today’s Bord Gais Energy All-Ireland Under-21 Hurling Championship semi-finals at O’Connor Park in Tullamore. Corner forward John O’Dwyer was the star of the show, bagging a goal in either half as Tipperary advanced to the showpiece final on September 11. Antrim boss Dinny Cahill got not change from his native county who dominated throughout, with O’Dwyer’s first goal setting Tipperary on their way. O’Dwyer’s spectacular first came in the second quarter, and Tipp pushed into a 1-11 to 0-0 lead before Thomas McCann eventually opened the Saffrons’ account in the 26th minute. The centre-forward’s point was a well-taken score but Tipp continued to dominate up to half-time. Scores arrived from all sectors for the Munster champions, indeed nine players were on target for the Premier County side in the opening half. Brian O’Meara, Patrick and Brendan Maher and O’Dwyer claimed points to power Tipp towards a 1-18 to 0-1 interval lead.

Tipperary manager Ken Hogan could afford to call senior star Noel McGrath ashore at the break. The midfielder had contributed six points during the opening half hour, and was replaced by Adrian Ryan for the second half. Tipperary were hungry for goals and although Cormac Donnelly denied John O’Neill, and Antrim goalkeeper Eoin Gillan blocked John O’Dwyer on the rebound in the 47th minute, a second goal came quickly for Hogan’s youngsters. O’Dwyer sent Tipp into a 2-25 to 0-4 lead with a superb 48th minute ground strike, after Michael Heffernan had played the ball in from the corner. Antrim quickly made amends, with Michael Armstrong doubling on a speculative PJ O’Connell shot, 30 seconds later, for the Ulster side’s only goal. Defender James Campbell and Armstrong (0-2) adding points late on, but Tipp were not going to be reeled in and they comfortably cruised to a 28-point win. For Antrim, it is another crushing blow as their wait for a first ever All-Ireland final appearance at this age grade continues.

Scorers: Tipperary: J O’Dwyer 2-3, N McGrath (0-2f, 0-2 ’65’), M Heffernan 0-6 each, S Carey 0-4, B O’Meara, K Morris 0-3 each, Padraic Maher, B Maher, S Hennessy (0-1f), Patrick Maher, P Murphy, J O’Neill, A Ryan 0-1 each.

Antrim: M Armstrong 1-2, T McCann 0-2, J Campbell, C Carson, D Hamill 0-1 each

TIPPERARY: J Logue; K O’Gorman, J Coghlan, M Cahill; J Barry, Padraig Maher, B Maher; S Hennessy, N McGrath; S Carey, P Murphy, Patrick Maher; M Heffernan, B O’Meara, J O’Dwyer.

Subs used: A Ryan for N McGrath, K Morris for Patrick Maher (both half-time), C Hough for B Maher (39 mins), J O’Neill for Hennessy (41), A Ryan for Carey (49), C Coughlan for O’Gorman (50).

ANTRIM: E Gillan; K Molloy, C Donnelly, S Shannon; L McAuley, M Donnelly, J Campbell; PJ O’Connell, E Laverty; M Devlin, T McCann, C Rocks; M Armstrong, C Carson, D Hamill.

Subs used: G Laverty for McCann (12-13 mins, temp), M Burke for McAuley (39), G Laverty for Rocks (49), N Cunningham for C Donnelly (52), M Lynch for O’Connell (59).

Referee: Tony Carroll (Offaly)

Team News

The Tipperary under 21 hurling team to play Antrim in the All Ireland U-21 semi-final on Saturday afternoon in Tullamore shows no change from the team which defeated Clare in the Munster final. The team is:

1. James Logue (Ballingarry)               
2. Kevin O’Gorman (Thurles Sarsfields)         
3. John Coghlan (Moyne-Templetuohy)          
4. Michael Cahill (Thurles Sarsfields)  
5. James Barry (Upperchurch Drombane)
6. Padraic Maher (Thurles Sarsfields)  Captain
7. Brendan Maher (Borris–Ileigh)       
8. Seamus Hennessy (Kilruane MacDonaghs)
9. Noel McGrath (Loughmore Castleiney)      
10. Seán Carey (Moyle Rovers)                      
11. Patrick Maher (Lorrha & Dorrha)              
12. Brian O’Meara (Kilruane MacDonaghs)    
13. Michael Heffernan (Nenagh Éire Óg)         
14. Paddy Murphy (Nenagh Éire Óg)              
15. John O’Dwyer (Killenaule)

GAA Football All-Ireland Junior Championship Final – Sligo 2-10 Kerry 1-7

Sligo defeated Kerry by 2-10 to 1-7 in the GAA Football All-Ireland Junior Championship Final on Saturday in Pearse Stadium Galway.

Sligo claim historic Junior title

Report from the web site

Saturday, August 21, 2010

Sligo’s Junior team made amends somewhat for the disappointing end to their Senior side’s season by claiming the GAA Football All-Ireland Junior Championship title after a 2-10 to 1-7 defeat of Kerry at Pearse Stadium on Saturday. Yeats’ manager and Galway native Kevin Walsh led his adopted county to its first success in the grade since 1935.

David Maye, who finished with 0-8 for Sligo, was the standout performer on the day, while early Kieran Finan and Ciaran McNamara goals helped the winners to a 2-4 to 1-3 half-time lead. Brendan Poff raised a green flag for the Kingdom in response. Kerry’s hopes of staging a comeback after the break were all but ended when they had three men sent off – Brendan Guiney, Michael Murphy and Colin O’Mahony.

Team News

The Kerry Junior team to play Sligo in The All Ireland Junior Final in Pearse stadium in Galway on Saturday next is as follows: 1. Séan Óg O’Ciarubháin, Cordal 2. Gavin O’Connor, Castlegregory 3. Fergal Griffin, Glenbeigh/Glencar 4. Aidan Cahill, Spa 5. Eamon Hickson, Annascaul 6. Adrian Greaney, St. Pats 7. Brendan Guiney, Listowel Emmets 8. Mike Coakley, Scartaglin 9. Don Murphy, Gneeveguilla 10. Michael Murphy, Gneeveguilla 11. Michael O’Donoghue, Spa (Capt) 12. Alan O’Sullivan, Tousist 13. Gary Sayers, Keel 14. Aodán MacGearailt, An Ghaeltacht 15. John Buckley, Currow

Substitutes are as follows:

16. Paul O’Sullivan, Churchill 17. Brendan Poff, St. Pats 18. Brian McGuire, Listowel Emmets 19. Tom McGoldrick, Brosna 20. Alan Fitzgerald, Castlegregory 21. Brian Gleeson, Spa 22. Francis Courtney, Beaufort 23. Colin O’Mahony, Ballydonoghue 24. Daniel Doyle, Churchill 25.Flor McAuliffe, Brosna

Trainer: Kerry O’Sullivan, Currow

Selectors: Tim Dennehy, Castlegregory and Pat Brosnan, Brosna