GAA Football All-Ireland Senior Championship Quarter-Final – Cork 1-16 Roscommon 0-10

Cork defeated Roscommon by 1-16 to 0-10 in the GAA Football All-Ireland Senior Championship Quarter-Final on Sunday in Croke Park.

Cork book semi-final date with Dublin

From the web site 

Sunday, 1 August 2010 18:48

Cork booked a GAA Football Championship semi-final clash with Dublin after a 1-16 to 0-10 win over Roscommon at Croke Park. But it was only in the second half that the Munster men showed glimpses of what they are capable of. After a lacklustre first-half display, Cork led by just a point, and fell behind early in the second period to a courageous but limited Roscommon side. The Rebels increased the tempo thereafter, with Pearse O’Neill turning on the style at centre-forward, and drilling home the only goal of the game in the 64th minute. Manager Conor Counihan will be pleased with the quality of his side’s second-half performance, but concerned over the fitness of centre-back and captain Graham Canty, who limped off with a hamstring injury on 57 minutes. Daniel Goulding found the range right from the outset, knocking over a 20-metre free, and adding a ’45, before Donal Shine curled over a gem from far out on the left wing for Roscommon, having taken David O’Gara’s return pass.

The Rebels found it difficult to break down a hard-working Roscommon defence, and the willingness of the Roscommon attackers to help out was highlighted by Cathal Cregg’s wonderful block on Aidan Walsh. However, midfielder Walsh helped the Munster men shade possession in the central area, and Goulding’s fourth score was followed by a Paul Kerrigan point for a 0-05 to 0-01 lead in the 22nd minute. O’Gara launched a massive point from almost 50 metres to lift Roscommon spirits, and when John Rogers slotted over a 27th-minute effort, just three points separated the sides. Goalkeeper Geoffrey Claffey kept the Rossies very much in the game with a smart save from Pearse O’Neill, who connected first-time when sent in by Walsh. But the Connacht champions grew in confidence, with Michael Finneran and Karol Mannion stepping it up in the midfield battle, and in a rousing finish to the half, Shine steered over two more points. Had he not missed a couple of decent chances, Roscommon would have been in front at the break, rather than 0-06 to 0-05 behind.

They went ahead early in the second half. First Alan Quirke had to produce a brilliant save to deflect Ger Heneghan’s shot over the bar, then midfielders Mannion and Finneran both tagged on points. But Nicholas Murphy and Donncha O’Connor, who were among three subs introduced at half-time by Counihan, started to make an impact, and as Roscommon legs became heavy, the Rebels reeled off five points on the spin to go four clear. Goulding, O’Connor, Ciaran Sheehan, Kerrigan and O’Neill were all on target, and it was O’Neill who fired in a 64th-minute goal to seal the win, after substitute Alan O’Connor had turned over possession. Donncha O’Connor was content to tap a penalty over the bar as the Rebels cruised over the finish line.

Cork: A Quirke, R Carey, M Shields, J O’Sullivan, N O’Leary, G Canty (0-1), P Kissane, D Kavanagh, A Walsh, P Kerrigan (0-2), P O’Neill (1-2), P Kelly, D Goulding (0-6, 2f, 1 ’45), C Sheehan (0-2), C O’Neill.

Subs: N Murphy forWalsh, D O’Connor (0-3, 1 pen) for C O’Neill, J Miskella for O’Sullivan, E Cotter for Canty, A O’Connor for Kavanagh

Roscommon: G Claffey, S McDermott, P Domican, S Ormsby, S Purcell, C Dineen, D Casey, M Finneran (0-1), Karol Mannion (0-1), D Keenan, D O’Gara (0-1), C Cregg, J Rogers (0-1), D Shine (0-5, 3f), G Heneghan (0-1).

Subs: C Garvey for Purcell, K Higgins for Rogers, E Kenny for Mannion, J Dunning for Cregg

Referee: C Reilly (Meath)

Team News

Roscommon: G Claffey; S McDermott, P Domican (captain), S Ormsby; S Purcell, C Dineen, D Casey; M Finneran, K Mannion; D Keenan, D O’Gara, C Cregg; J Rogers, D Shine, G Heneghan.

Cork: A Quirke; R Carey, M Shields, J O’Sullivan; N O’Leary, G Canty (capt), P Kissane; D Kavanagh, A Walsh; P Kerrigan, P O’Neill, P Kelly; D Goulding, C Sheehan, C O’Neill.

ESB GAA Football All-Ireland Minor Championship Quarter-Final – Cork 3-11 Armagh 0-19

Cork defeated Armagh by 3-11 to 0-19 in the ESB GAA Football All-Ireland Minor Championship Quarter-Final on Sunday in Croke Park.

Last-gasp O’Mahony goal denies Armagh

From the Irish Independent newspaper

Monday August 02 2010

AN INJURY-TIME goal from Cork substitute Stephen O’Mahony settled this dramatic contest at Croke Park yesterday. With Armagh leading by two points, they looked set to be facing Galway in the last four but, with their last attack, Cork made ground through John O’Rourke and though he was stripped of possession close to goal, O’Mahony was on hand to poke the ball home. Armagh’s early play was swift, and Ryan Conlon and Ryan Rafferty both impressed as they built a 0-7 to 0-2 lead by the 18th minute, with Rafferty unlucky to be denied an early goal. A Diarmuid Lester point for Cork cut the gap, and though a good Adrian Forker free cancelled that out, O’Rourke then struck for a Cork goal.

Armagh responded, however, and two points from Forker put them ahead by 0-12 to 1-5 at the break. A raft of changes for Cork at half-time made them look a more solid outfit, and in the opening 10 minutes of the second half they narrowed the gap to three (0-13 to 1-7). Though Brian Hurley reduced the lead to two soon after, points from Barry Seeley and Forker looked to have re-asserted Armagh’s control. A burst of 1-1 from Cork sub Dan Mac Eoin tied things at 0-15 to 2-9, however, and Hurley then gave his side the lead before McKenna equalised for Armagh. When O’Mahony pointed with five minutes left, Cork were back in the lead. But another Forker free levelled it before Niall McConville scored his second point. Sub Colin Stevenson then made it a two-point game before the drama of O’Mahony’s goal sealed it for Cork.

Scorers — Cork: J O’Rourke, D Mac Eoin, S O’Mahony 1-1 each, B Hurley 0-3 (0-1f), D Lester, K Sheehan (0-1f), K Hallissey, D Fitzgerald, D Cahalane 0-1 each. Armagh: A Forker 0-6 (0-3f), R Rafferty, R Conlon, B Seeley (0-1f), N McConville 0-2 each, C Stevenson, P Carragher, P McGeown, C Gough, M McKenna 0-1 each.

CORK — D Hanrahan; K Fulignati, D Cahalane, D Murphy; D Lester, T Clancy, J Wall; J Burns, J ORourke; K Sheehan, D Fitzgerald, A Cronin; K Hallissey, T Hegarty, B Hurley. Subs: M O’Shea for Wall (h-t), D Mac Eoin for Sheehan, S O’Mahony for Hegarty (48), D ODonovan for Fulignati (51), M Sugrue for Fitzgerald (59).

ARMAGH — M McNeice; R McCaughley, C Hoey, R Finnegan; D Nugent, J King, N McConville; P Carragher, C Gough; M McKenna, A Forker, B Seeley; R Conlon, P McGeown, R Rafferty. Subs: D Mullen for McCaughey, C Stevenson for Conlon (57), C Trainor for Seeley (58).

Ref — C Reilly (Meath)

Team News

The Cork Minor Football Team to play Armagh in the All-Ireland Minor Football Quarter Final in Croke Park on Sunday August 1st. at 12noon

CORK MF (v Armagh) – David Hanrahan, Kevin Fulignati, Damien Cahalane, Darren Murphy; Diarmuid Lester, Tom Clancy, Jamie Wall; Jamie Burns, John O’Rourke; Kevin Sheehan, Daniel Fitzgerald, Alan Cronin; Kevin Hallissey, Tom Hegarty, Brian Hurley

Subs: – Shane Masters (Kilmichael), Matthew O’Shea (Glengarriff), James Goggin (St Finbarr’s), Sean Ryan (Newcestown), David O’Donovan (Nemo Rangers), Mark Sugrue (Bandon), Dara Ring (Canovee), Dan McEoin (Ilen Rovers), Stephen O’Mahony (Gabriel Rangers)