Allianz NHL Division 3A Final – Kerry 2-18 Derry 1-15

Kerry defeated Derry by 2-18 to 1-15 in the Allianz GAA Hurling National League Division 3A Final on Saturday at Padraig Pearses, Woodmount, Roscommon.

Match Preview

Allianz GAA Hurling National League Roinn IIIA Final 2010 Final

Woodmount, Roscommon: Derry v Kerry, 2.30pm

For the third year running Derry and Kerry face off in an Allianz GAA National League Final, but on this occasion the counties are striving for the Division 3A Hurling crown rather than the premier football title. Twelve months ago the Kingdom were relegated from Division 2 and today affords them the opportunity to make an immediate return.

Less than two months have passed since today’s protagonists met in the opening round of the campaign at Celtic Park before a spare attendance of about 100. The visitors had the better of the opening period and with Darragh O’Connell and Shane Brick to the fore established an interval advantage of eight points – 1-9 to 0-4. However, the hosts restarted superbly and three unanswered points preceded a goal by Oisin McCloskey from a penalty to narrow arrears to three. Alas, that was as close as they got with the Kingdom re-establishing control and pulling away for a comfortable 3-13 to 1-9 win.

Following that win Kerry stuttered to the narrowest of victories against Mayo at Castlebar, but subsequently it was plain sailing as Meath, London and Armagh were all overcome with something to spare. Derry did recover from that loss to post impressive away victories over London and Mayo, but a 1-12 to 3-11 loss to Armagh on home turf in Round 4 left it looking like they would miss out on the decider.

At Navan, Meath looked on course to secure their berth in the final when they led by 1-15 to 0-12 in the final quarter, with the visitors down to 13 men. However, despite the reduced compliment Derry put in a storming finish and a brace of Kevin Hinphey goals helped them to a 2-15 to 1-17 win and a place in today’s final. It may not have the profile of the two most recent Kerry-Derry finals, but with a place in Division 2 at stake, today’s match will be keenly contested.

Team News

Kerry V Derry Allianz NHL Div 3A Final Final

Thursday, 08 April 2010 20:46 |

The Kerry Senior hurling team Vs Derry Sat 10th of April, NHL Div 3 Hurling League Final is as follows:

1. John Brendan O’Halloran Kilmoyley

2. Colin Harris Kilmoyley 3. Aidan Healy Abbeydorney 4. Andrew Keane Crotta O’Neills

5. James Godley Kilmoyley 6. Liam Boyle Ballyduff 7. Tom Murnane Kilmoyley

8.Mike Conway Lixnaw 9. John Griffin Lixnaw

10. John Egan Ardfert 11.Michael Boyle Ballyduff 12. Shane Brick, Capt Kilmoyley

13. Darragh O Connell Abbeydorney 14. Gary O’Brien Ballyduff 15. John Mike Dooley Causeway

The substitutes are:

Bernard Rochford Killeagh, Cork

Jason Casey Ballyheigue

John Fitzgerald Causeway

Eoin Sheehy Kilmoyley

James Flaherty Lixnaw

Sean Young Kilmoyley

Niall Young Kilmoyley

James McCarthy Kilmoyley

Shane Nolan Crotta O’Neills

David Fitzelle Kilmoyley

Ronan Kenny Ballyheigue

Brian O Leary Abbeydorney

Richard Nolan Crotta O’Neills

Padraigh Monson Causeway

Sean Maunsell Kilmoyley

Darren Twomey Crotta O’Neills

Turlough Bonnar Cashel King Cormacs, Tipperary

Andy McCarthy Kilmoyley

All-Ireland Colleges Senior A Football Final – St. Colmans Newry 1-18 St. Brendans Killarney 3-5

St. Colmans Newry defeated St. Brendans Killarney by 1-18 to 3-5 in the All-Ireland Colleges Senior A Football Final on Saturday at Croke Park.

St Colmans Bask In Hogan Cup Glory

From the Down GAA web site

Crowds will gather on the Armagh Road this evening as Niall Mc Parland carries the coveted Hogan Cup to the gates of St Colmans after a supreme performance by the Violet Hill College. Whilst St Colmans had the lionshare of possession through the first half, leading 0-9 to 1-1, they did go into the interval wondering if they would live to rue the chances they missed in the first period. A mixture of nerves and a wind in their faces meant that the College were finding it difficult to register on the scoreboard at GAA headquarters. As the game wore on though, St Colmans grew in confidence and began to make their dominance count. Sub Shay McCartan scored St Colmans goal on 54 minutes with a rebounded shot following fellow subsititute Ross McGarrys missed penalty. Bryansfords Chris Clarke was awarded Man Of The Match and the accolade was thoroughly deserved. Chris was majestic at centre half forward and scored five sublime points from dead ball and open play alike. Clarke, along with Colin Stevenson (0-2), Caolan Mooney (0-3) and Kilcoo man Jerome Johnston (0-4) led what was a formidible forward line.

Ruairi Lively at corner back was another who stood out. The Clonduff man has another year at this level but looked every bit the assured player and made sure Kilarneys inside forward line didnt dominate the way they had against St Pats Navan. Niall Mc Parland becomes the 7th captain to return Hogan Cup to Violet Hill, Noel Moore having been the first to captain the Newry school to success at this level, in 1967.

Unfortunately today was not a double celebration for Down schools as St Malachys were beaten by Clonakilty on a scoreline 11-8. This defeat brings to an end an unbeaten run of 26 games for the Castlewellan side who have flown the flag for Down in All Ireland Finals for the last three years-a truly remarkable feat. No doubt St Malachys will return next year with renewed vigour. PJ Magees teams are always well coached and todays performance was another disciplined and hard working display which possibly deserved a favourable result. For now the people of Down must content themselves with celebrating the outstanding achievements of St Colmans College Newry.

All-Ireland Vocational Schools Senior A Football Final – Clonakilty CC 0-11 St. Malachys, Castewellan 0-8

Clonakilty CC defeated St. Malachys, Castewellan by 0-11 to 0-8 in the All-Ireland Vocational Schools Senior A Football Final on Saturday at Croke Park.