Buy or Renew your GAA Season Ticket for 2019 now

All-Ireland Junior Club Camogie Final Replay – Lavey, Derry v St. Anne’s, Waterford

Lavey, Derry defeated St. Anne’s, Waterford by 1-13 to 0-7 in the All-Ireland Junior Club Camogie Championship Final Replay on Sunday in Donaghmore Ashbourne, Co. Meath.

Match Report

Lavey (Derry)….1-13 St Anne’s (Waterford)…0-7

Lavey took home the Phil McBride Cup for the first time following a thrilling All-Ireland Junior Camogie Club Championship final replay in Ashbourne yesterday. Having already played eighty minutes last Sunday, both teams once again showed their fitness to produce an action-packed contest. In excellent conditions and in front of a large crowd, camogie was the ultimate winner. The Ulster champs made a blistering start. Corner-forward, Paula McCloy, sent over two early points. Player-of-the-Match, Attracta McPeake, excelled for the Derry side at midfield. She never stopped working for the hour.

Lavey led at the break, 0-6 to 0-4, but it took St Anne’s just 45 seconds to register the first score of the second half. It came from a free by the very impressive Karen Kelly, who gave the Lavey defence plenty of concern. Yet the golden goal came from a Derry stick, seven minutes into the restart, as Helen O’Neill darted through and drilled in a beauty. That gave Lavey a 1-7 to 0-5 advantage. Lavey then grew in confidence, and they enhanced their work with six valuable points. Anne’s kept battling, yet openings were rare against an extremely formidable rearguard.

Defeat was no fault of Charlotte-Marie Raher (Raher), who toiled with conviction and craft in the engine room. The Saints had other aces in Carolyn Ahearn, who made a tremendous save midway through the second half. Yet, overall, Lavey’s craft and punch in attack, plus that solid defence, proved the match winning ticket. Especially outstanding were centre half-back, Ceara Cushnahan, captain and left half-back, Siobhan Convery, and the free-taking and general contribution from the gifted McPeake.

Lavey (Derry) 1-13 (A McPeake 0-6 (5f, 1 65), H O’Neill 1-0, P McCloy 0-3, M O’Kane, D McShane 0-2 each);
St Anne’s (Waterford) 0-7 (K Kelly 0-5 (all frees), M Murphy, J Simpson 0-1 each).

From Maire Ui Scolai

Match Preview

St Anne’s and Lavey return to Ashbourne on Sunday after the teams couldn’t be separated last weekend following extra time. In a game that was dictated by the elements, it took a Karen Kelly point to tie matters on 60 minutes for the Munster champions.

However, Lavey showed tremendous character to draw level in added time. There is nothing to suggest who will emerge victorious. Both teams have huge experience, and with neither side having won the Phil McBride Cup before, they will not be willing to give in too easy.

Lavey, once again, will be led by star attacker Mary O’Kane who played a major role in the drawn match. As did Kelly for the Deise. She and her fellow inter-county players will not want to lose another All Ireland title. This could well go down to the wire again.

AIB GAA Hurling All Ireland Intermediate Club Championship – South Liberties (Limerick) v St. Gabriel’s (London)

South Liberties (Limerick) defeated St. Gabriel’s (London) by 3-15 to 0-6 in the AIB GAA Hurling All Ireland Intermediate Club Championship Quarter-Final on Sunday in Ruislip.

AIB Munster GAA Club Junior Football Championship Final – Castlegregory (Kerry) v Mountcollins (Limerick)

Castlegregory (Kerry) defeated Mountcollins (Limerick) by 1-20 to 0-4 in the AIB Munster GAA Club Junior Football Championship Final on Sunday  in Mallow.

Match Report

Hennessy leads Castle’ stroll

From the Irish Independent newspaper

Castlegregory 1-20 Mountcollins 0-4

Munster Club JFC Final

Monday December 14 2009

KERRY champions Castlegregory had things almost all their own way as they had 19 points to spare over Limerick’s Mountcollins at Mallow yesterday.When the sides shared the game’s first two points in the opening three minutes, a close tie looked to be in prospect, but from there until the 47th minute Castlegregory out-scored their opponents by 1-17 to no score, with Shane Hennessy, who finished up with 1-5 to his name, raising the green flag.

Scorers —
Castlegregory: S Hennessy 1-5, C O’Mahony 0-4, A Fitzgerald, B Lynch (0-1f) 0-3 each, G O’Connor, R Kelliher, JB Spillane, A Lynch, L Maunsell 0-1 each
Mountcollins: M Curtin 0-2f, B McCarthy (f), P Naughton 0-1 each

CASTLEGREGORY — S Kenny; G O’Connor, J Scully, J O’Connor; S O’Mahony, S Browne, A Finn; S Hennessy, R Kelliher; JB Spillane, A Fitzgerald, B Lynch; C O’Mahony, A Lynch, A McNamara. Subs: C Sills for J O’Connor, J Fitzgerald for Lynch (both 37), D Heasman for Kelliher, L Maunsell for O’Mahony (both 42), S O’Connor for A Fitzgerald (47).

MOUNTCOLLINS — Tom Begley; S Lyons, J O’Connell, E O’Connor; Tommy Begley, C Begley, M Quirke; T McCarthy, S Gleeson; T Walsh, S Gleeson, Bernard McCarthy; M Curtin, D Gleeson, Brian McCarthy. Subs: M Dillane for Lyons, B Linehan for E O’Connor (both h-t), D Dillane for Walsh (40), P Naughton for D Gleeson (43), S O’Connor for Bernard McCarthy (49).

Ref — C Lane (Cork)

AIB Munster GAA Club Junior Hurling Championship Final – Fermoy (Cork) v Blackrock (Limerick)

Blackrock (Limerick) defeated Fermoy (Cork) by 1-12 to 0-14 in the AIB Munster GAA Junior Hurling Championship Final on Sunday in Mallow.

Match Report

Moloney nicks it for Blackrock

From the Irish Independent newspaper

Blackrock 1-12 Fermoy 0-14

Munster Club JHC Final

Monday December 14 2009

DAVE MOLONEY scored a point from 90 yards in injury-time to give Blackrock of Limerick victory in a thrilling game in Mallow. It was a deserved win for the team from Kilfinane and Ardpatrick, with Ritchie Murphy, in particular, outstanding for them. Blackrock trailed by two points at the interval, 0–11 to 1–6, but two points by Ritchie McCarthy levelled the sides soon after the restart. As the game moved into injury-time, a replay looked to be on the cards before Moloney’s late intervention.

Scorers —

Blackrock: R McCarthy 0-6 (0-4f), A Murphy 1-2, R Murphy (0-1 ’65), R O’Shaughnessy, B O’Shaughnessy, D Moloney 0-1 each.
Fermoy: B O’Sullivan 0-9 (0-8f), S Killeen 0-2, P Boyce, A O’Connor, M Flynn 0-1 each.

BLACKROCK — P Heffernan; N Hosford, TG Ryan, T Clifford; R Murphy, D Moloney, N Moloney; B Moloney, P McGrath; K Palmer, R McCarthy, S Hennessy; R O’Shaughnessy, B Hennessy, A Murphy.

Subs: B O’Shaughnessy for Palmer (38), D Danaher for Hennessy (48), K Douglas for McGrath (54).

FERMOY — J Condon; L Coleman, L Mannix, A Baragry; R O’Callaghan, D Carroll, J Hutchings; P Mahon, J O’Sullivan; P Boyce, T Clancy, B O’Sullivan; A O’Connor, S Killeen, M Flynn.

Subs: E Clancy for Mahon, P Shanahan for O’Connor (both ht), T Grumbridge for T Clancy (50), I Brennan for Boyce (52), F Ryan for Flynn (inj, 59).

Ref — S McMahon (Clare)