All-Ireland SHC Relegation Semi-Final – Clare v Wexford

Clare will play Wexford in the All-Ireland Senior Hurling Championship Relegation Semi-Final on Saturday July 25th at 5:00pm in Portlaoise.

Fixture Details

GAA Hurling All Ireland Senior Championship
Relegation Round 1
An Clár v Loch Garman @ 5.00pm
Venue: Portlaoise
Referee: James McGrath (An Iarmhí)
(E.T. if Necessary)

Team News

Clare (SH v Wexford) – TBC

Wexford (SH v Clare): D Fitzhenry, M Travers, P Roche, K Rossiter, D Stamp, R Kehoe, C Kenny, PJ Nolan, D Lyng (Capt), H Kehoe, W Doran, S Doyle, D Redmond, S Banville, R Jacob.

Match Preview

This will be only the fourth championship meeting between the sides, all having come in this decade. And so far it has proved a very successful fixture for Clare who won all three previous clashes by comfortable margins. They last clashed in the 2006 All-Ireland quarter-final which Clare won by 1-27 to 1-15 in Croke Park.

It has been an extremely disappointing season for Clare who failed to win any League game en route to being relegated from Division One before they lost to Tipperary and Galway in the championship. Wexford were beaten by Offaly in the Division 2 League final, thereby missing out on promotion and after beating Offaly in the Leinster championship they lost to Dublin and Limerick to find themselves in the relegation zone.

Previous Clashes

2006: Clare 1-27 Wexford 1-15 (All-Ireland quarter-final)

2005: Clare 1-20 Wexford 0-12 (All-Ireland quarter-final)

2002: Clare 3-15 Wexford 3-7 (All-Ireland qualifiers)

2009 Championship

Tipperary 3-18 Clare 1-22 (Munster semi-final) Galway 2-18 Clare 1-11 (All-Ireland qualifiers)


Wexford 2-17 Offaly 0-16 (Leinster quarter-final) Dublin 0-18 Wexford 1-13 (Leinster semi-final) Limerick 1-13 Wexford 0-14 (All-Ireland qualifiers)

All-Ireland GAA ESB MHC Q-Final – Tipperary v Wexford

All-Ireland GAA ESB Minor Hurling Championship Quarter-Final

Tipp squeeze through to Minor Hurling semis

Report from the Irish Examiner web site

Tipperary 0-20 Wexford 0-19

A 76th minute point from Eanna Murray was the difference as Tipperary overcame Wexford after extra-time in today’s ESB All-Ireland MHC quarter-final at Portlaoise. Ahead by 0-07 to 0-06 at the interval, Wexford were pushed all the way by a Tipperary side that lost forward Michael O’Brien through a second yellow card on the restart. Tipperary broke in front for the first time in 27 minutes thanks to a superb score from defender Alan Hogan, but this game was closely contested throughout. The sides were level on four further occasions in the second half, with a point from Tipperary centre-back Brian Stapleton ensuring extra-time.

Wexford began strongly in extra-time with Jack Hobbs slotting over a point after just six seconds as the beaten Leinster finalists quickly built up a two-point advantage. But a brace of Murray points ensured the sides were deadlocked at half-time in extra-time. However, Tipperary proved strongest in the closing period and outscored Wexford by two points to one with top scorer Murray landing his ninth and most important point with four minutes remaining.

Scorers – Tipperary: E Murray 0-09 (0-05f, 0-01 ’65’), D Maher, S Curran, T Butler 0-02 each, B Stapleton, A Hogan, A Cleere, R Gleeson, M O’Brien 0-01 each

Wexford: G Moore 0-06 (0-06f), D O’Keeffe 0-05 (0-01sl), L McGovern, A Kenny 0-02 each, J Hobbs, B Doyle, B Barron, C Goff 0-01 each.

WEXFORD: M Fanning; W Devereux, M O’Hanlon, A Nolan; B Barron, C Goff, B O’Gorman; J Gordon, B Doyle; D O’Keeffe, M O’Regan, L Og McGovern; E Whitmore, P Farrell, G Moore.

Subs used: C Clince for Devereux (33 mins), C Doyle for Whitmore (50), A Kenny for Farrell (54), J Hobbs for O’Regan (61), I Byrne for O’Keeffe (75), M Moloney for Doyle (76), P Farrell for Moore (80).

TIPPERARY: P Ryan; S Maher, L Butler, J Meagher; W Ryan, B Stapleton, A Hogan; D Maher, A Cleere; R Gleeson, S Curran, E Murray; D Collins, T Butler, M O’Brien.

Subs used: D Butler for Collins (37 mins), J Forde for Cleere (42), J Condon for T Butler (53), P Heffernan for Gleeson (59), R Gleeson as replacement for O’Brien ((red card) extra-time), A Ryan for Maher (63).

Referee: Alan Kelly (Galway)

Live Updates

Visit the Tipperary GAA web site for live updates of this game.

Result – Tipperary 0-20 Wexford 0-19 (after extra time)

Fixture Details

ESB GAA Hurling All Ireland Minor Championship Quarter Final
Portlaoise 3.00pm Loch Garman v Tiobraid Árann
Referee: Alan Kelly (Gaillimh)
(E.T. if Necessary)

Team News

Tipperary (MH v Wexford) – Paul Ryan (Upperchurch-Drombane); Stephen Maher (Thurles Sarsfields), Liam Butler (Moyne-Templetuohy – Captain), John Meagher (Loughmore Castleiney); Willie Ryan (Clonakenny), Brian Stapleton (Templederry Kenyons), Alan Hogan (Shannon Rovers); Denis Maher (Thurles Sarsfields), Adrian Cleere (Ballingarry); Ruairi Gleeson (Kildangan), Sean Curran (Mullinahone), Eanna Murray (Templederry Kenyons); David Collins (Drom & Inch), Thomas Butler (Clonoulty Rossmore), Michael O’Brien (Clonmel Óg)

Wexford (MH v Tipperary): M Fanning, W Devereux, M O’Hanlon, A Nolan, C Goff, J Gordon, B Barron (Capt), B Doyle, M Maloney, D O’Keeffe, C Doyle, I Byrne, L Óg McGovern, P Farrell, E Whitmore.

Admission Details

Entry to the stand and terrace for adults in O’Moore Park, Portlaoise on Saturday is by ticket only. There are no reserved seats in the stand – seats can be taken on a first come first served basis.  For Tipperary supporters, tickets are available through Lár na Páirce in Thurles and Divisional Boards in Tipperary. Tickets can also be purchased on Ticketmaster and at O’Moore Park on Saturday. Stand tickets cost €25 and terrace tickets cost €15. A juvenile stand ticket costs €5 and juveniles are free to the terrace. A senior citizen stand ticket costs €15 (€25 with €10 cosncession retunred at Stile 1). Entry to the terrace for senior citizens and students costs €10 – pay at the stiles on the day.