Electric Ireland All-Ireland Minor Hurling Championship Quarter-Final – Limerick 0-17 Wexford 0-9

Limerick defeated Wexford by 0-17 to 0-9 in the Electric Ireland All-Ireland Minor Hurling Championship Quarter-Final on Sunday July 24th at Semple Stadium Thurles.

Electric Ireland MHC Quarter-Final: Limerick finish strongly

Electric Ireland MHC Quarter-Final

Limerick 0-17 Wexford 0-9

By Jackie Cahill at Semple Stadium for GAA.ie

Brian Ryan scored 10 points as Limerick shrugged off their Munster final defeat against Tipperary to book a slot in the Electric Ireland All-Ireland MHC semi-finals.

Ryan hit six frees and four from play as Limerick beat Wexford by eight points to set up an All-Ireland semi-final against Leinster champions Dublin. In what was a disappointing encounter at Semple Stadium, Wexford registered 15 wides and had a second half Barry O’Connor goal ruled out for a square ball.

Limerick’s winning margin flattered the Treaty boys as they finished with a flourish, claiming six of the game’s last seven points to run out comfortable winners, Ryan hitting five of them. Wexford could never get closer than three points to Limerick in the second half and missed a glorious chance in the 42nd minute to cut the margin to two, as Damien Reck fired a free wide.

Limerick took their time burning off Wexford, but eventually did and can now look forward to another All-Ireland semi-final appearance.
Limerick, playing against the breeze, led by 0-8 to 0-5 at the end of a disappointing first half.

Ryan was Limerick’s scorer-in-chief, hitting four pointed frees, as Conor Boylan pitched in with a brace from play. Wexford’s Theo Doyle chipped in with two fine points but between them, the sides managed just six points from play between them in the opening half.

They were level twice in the early exchanges, at two and three points apiece, before Limerick established a 0-7 to 0-3 lead, a run of four unanswered scores comprised of three Ryan frees and a long-range Josh Adams effort.Doyle ended a 21-minute barren spell for Wexford before Kyle Hayes and Wexford’s Reck (free) traded scores approaching the break.

Scorers for Limerick: B Ryan 0-10 (6fs), C Boylan 0-3, J Adams (f), M O’Grady, K Hayes, and D Woulfe 0-1 each.

Scorers for Wexford: D Reck 0-3 (2fs, 1 65), L Stafford and T Doyle 0-2 each, C Flood (f) and A Walsh 0-1 each.

Limerick: M O’Kelly; B Nash, C Nicholas, R Connelly; J Adams, C O’Connor, F Hourigan; J Boylan, D Carroll; M O’Grady, K Hayes, D Woulfe; C Boylan, A Barrett, B Ryan
Subs: C McCarthy for Carroll (30+1), P O’Riordan for Barrett (45), J Flynn for McCarthy (50), C Magnier Flynn for Woulfe (53), C O’Grady for M for O’Grady (57).

Wexford: J Henebery; C Scallan, D Byrne, E Molloy; J Cullen, C Firman, C Flood; G Molloy, A Walsh; L Stafford, D Reck, B O’Connor; C Hearne, M O’Neill, T Doyle
Subs: Q Saunders for Cullen (41), M Doyle for T Doyle (43), S Wall for Hearne (51), E Kelly for O’Neill (56).

Referee: D Hughes (Carlow).

Ticket Information
Reserved Seating in both stands:
Adults: €30
Juveniles: €5

Adults: €20
Juveniles: €5

Click to purchase tickets in advance

Team News

The Limerick minor hurling management team of Pat Donnelly (Manager) (South Liberties), selectors Brian Foley (South Liberties), John Mulqueen (Bruff) and Anthony Daly (Coach) has released their team and panel to face Wexford this Sunday noon clash with Wexford in the All Ireland minor hurling championship Quarter final at Semple Stadium Thurles.

The Limerick minor hurling team and panel is as follows
1. Mark O Kelly (Croom), 2. Brian Nash (South Liberties), 3. Conor Nicholas (Monaleen), 4. Ronan Connelly (Adare) 5. Josh Adams (Ballybrown), 6. Ciaran O Connor (Kilmallock), 7. Finn Hourigan (Murroe/Boher), 8. Jerome Boylan (Na Piarsaigh), 9. Darragh Carroll (Newport), 10. Michael O Grady (Knockainey), 11 Kyle Hayes (Kildimo/Pallaskenry)(Captain), 12. David Woulfe (Kilmallock), 13. Conor Boylan (Na Piarsaigh), 14. Anthony Barrett (Kilmallock), 15. Brian Ryan (South Liberties).
16. Jamie Power (Monaleen), 17. Cian Magnier Flynn (Killeedy), 18. John Flynn (Patrickswell), 19. Darren Golden O Mahony (Monaleen), 20. Brian Timmons (Murroe/Boher), 21. Paul O’Riordan (Bruff), 22. Paul O Brien (Mungret/St Pauls), 23. Cal McCarthy (Kilmallock), 24. Conor O Grady (Hospital/Herbertstown).