Buy or Renew your GAA Season Ticket for 2019 now

All-Ireland Senior Hurling Championship Quarter-Final – Limerick 4-26 Wexford 1-11

Limerick defeated Wexford by 4-26 to 1-11 in the All-Ireland Senior Hurling Championship Quarter-Final on Sunday July 27th at Semple Stadium Thurles.

SHC Quarter-Final: Limerick destroy Wexford

GAA Hurling All-Ireland Senior Championship Quarter-Final: Limerick 4-26 Wexford 1-11

Report by Jackie Cahill for

TJ Ryan’s Limerick hammered Wexford by 24 points in this afternoon’s All-Ireland senior hurling championship quarter-final at Semple Stadium.
The Shannonsiders ran riot against a fatigued Wexford team playing for the fourth successive weekend in the championship. Limerick forward Shane Dowling, one of the plus points to emerge from the recent Munster final defeat to Cork, helped himself to a personal haul of 2-8, including 2-3 from play.

Limerick’s massive win sends them through to a second successive All-Ireland semi-final and in a fortnight’s time, when the Treaty men will lock horns with Leinster champions Kilkenny. Having taken out All-Ireland champions Clare and Waterford in their previous outings, Wexford travelled to Thurles with high hopes and in big numbers. But their dreams were dashed by a clinical Limerick, who could even afford the luxury of shooting 16 wides.

Wexford were simply blown away and their afternoon ended on a sour note when full-back Matthew O’Hanlon was sent off in stoppage time for a challenge on Dowling. By half-time, this tie was effectively over as a contest as Limerick had opened up a 3-15 to 0-8 lead.

David Breen, excellent for Limerick, scored Limerick’s first goal in the 28th minute before Dowling netted twice in first half stoppage time. Dowling’s brace sucked any remaining life out of Wexford and the second half was a procession as the game petered out to an inevitable conclusion. Limerick continued to pile on the misery as midfielder Paul Browne charged through the heart of the Wexford defence to blast home a 37th minute goal.
Scorers for Limerick: S Dowling 2-8 (0-5f), D Hannon 0-4, D Breen & P Browne 1-1 each, G Mulcahy, T Ryan & S Tobin (1f), 0-3 each, J Ryan 0-2, W McNamara 0-1.

Scorers for Wexford: S Tomkins 1-0, D O’Keeffe 0-3, J Guiney 0-3 (1f, 1 65), P Doran & C McDonald 0-2 each, P Morris 0-1.

LIMERICK: N Quaid; T Condon, R McCarthy, S Hickey; P O’Brien, W McNamara, G O’Mahony; J Ryan, P Browne; D Breen, D Hannon, T Ryan; K Downes, S Dowling, G Mulcahy
Subs: S Tobin for Breen (51), N Moran for Downes (51), T O’Brien for Hannon (55), S Walsh for McCarthy (59), C King for J Ryan (65).

WEXFORD: M Fanning; L Ryan, M O’Hanlon, K Rossiter; A Shore, E Moore, C Kenny; D Redmond, L Chin; J Guiney, P Doran, D O’Keeffe; P Morris, C McDonald, L Og McGovern
Subs: R Kehoe for Kenny (HT), S Tomkins for Redmond (HT), R Jacob for Morris (43), I Byrne for Doran (43), H Kehoe for Moore (44).

Referee: B Kelly (Westmeath)

Notice to Limerick Supporters – Road Closure (R503)

An emergency road closure is in place on the Thurles / Newport Rd (R503) at Rearcross following flooding yesterday (24th July). The road closure will remain in place until further notice, possibly over the weekend. Traffic travelling to the match in Thurles on 27 July are advised to take the alternative route as follows: –

Traffic travelling to Thurles from Limerick – Divert at Finnegans Roundabout on to the M7 and take Exit 25 signposted Thurles and continue on the R498 to Thurles (and vice versa).

Team News

Limerick senior hurling manager TJ Ryan and his selectors has named his starting fifteen for the All Ireland senior hurling championship quarter final for this Sunday.

The team that will face Wexford in Semple Stadium at 2pm is as follows: 1. Nickie Quaid (Effin), 2. Tom Condon (Knockaderry), 3. Richie McCarthy (Blackrock), 4. Seamus Hickey (Murroe/Boher), 5. Paudie O Brien (Vice Captain) (Kilmallock), 6. Wayne McNamara (Adare), 7. Gavin O Mahony (Kilmallock), 8. James Ryan (Garryspillane), 9. Paul Browne (Bruff), 10. Declan Hannon (Adare), 11. Donal O Grady (Captain)(Granagh/Ballyingarry), 12. Shane Dowling (Na Piarsaigh), 13. Graeme Mulcahy (Kilmallock), 14. Kevin Downes (Na Piarsaigh) and 15. David Breen.