Munster U21 Hurling Semi-Final – Clare 5-19 Tipperary 1-25

Clare defeated Tipperary by 5-19 to 1-25 after extra time in the Bord Gais Energy Munster GAA Hurling U21 Championship Semi-Final on Wednesday July 16th at Cusack Park Ennis.

Video Highlights from TG4

Match Programme

Supporters going to this game can pick up a souvenir programme for 2 euro which includes match previews, player profiles, a look back at previous meetings between Tipperary and Clare, various Odds and Ends and more.


Team News

Tipperary travel to Cusack Park in Ennis on Wednesday night for the Munster under 21 semi-final the team has been named. The U21H team to play Clare includes six of the team that started against Clare in last years Munster Final defeat. These are Michael Breen, Cathal Barrett, Tomas Hamill, Seamus Kennedy, Jason Forde and Liam McGrath and they will be joined by current Senior Inter County player Ronan Maher along with Colin O Riordan from the current Senior Football squad plus 2012 All Ireland MH captain Bill Maher.

Tipperary (U21H v Clare) – Paul Maher (Moyne Templetuohy); Cathal Barrett (Holycross Ballycahill), Michael Breen (Ballina), Tom Fox (Éire Óg Annacarty); Ronan Maher (Thurles Sarsfields), John Meagher (Loughmore Castleiney), Tomas Hamill (Moyne Templetuohy), Seamus Kennedy (St. Mary’s Clonmel), Bill Maher (Kilsheelan Kilcash); Colin O Riordan (J K Brackens), Liam McGrath (Loughmore Castleiney), Dan McCormack (Borris Ileigh); Stephen Cahill (Thurles Sarsfields), Jason Forde (Silvermines – Captain), Sean Maher (Clonoulty Rossmore)

CLARE (U21 v Tipperary): Keith Hogan; Jarlath Colleran, Jack Browne, Seadna Morey; Gearóid O’Connell, Alan O’Neill, Conor Cleary; Tony Kelly, Colm Galvin; Jamie Shanahan, Shane McGrath, Peter Duggan; Bobby Duggan, Aaron Cunningham, David Reidy.

When – Wednesday July 16th @ 7:30pm

Where – Cusack Park Ennis

Referee – Cathal McAllister (Cork)
Stand-By Referee – Colm Lyons (Cork)
Linesman – Aidan Barry (Cork)
Sideline Official – James Bermingham (Cork)
Umpires – Dan Looney, Bernard Butler, Richard Moloney, Charlie McAllister

Extra time – (2 periods x 10 minutes only) to be played if sides finish level at the end of 60 minutes

Next Round – the winners play Cork or Waterford in the Munster final on Wednesday, July 30th.

Admission Prices
Adult – €10
Student/OAP with appropriate ID Card – €5

Tickets available online at and in Centra and SuperValu shops. Pre-purchase to avoid delays on the night.
Under 16s are free

Contact Munster GAA PRO Ger Ryan at for more information

For the Record

  Clare Tipperary
Management Donal Moloney, Gerry O’ Connor (Joint Managers), Jimmy Browne, Paul Kinnerk, Barry Fitzpatrick TJ Connolly (Manager),

Niall Curran, Ken Dunne, Noel Morris.

2013 Championship Performance Defeated Waterford and Tipperary to win the Munster Final before defeating Galway in the All Ireland semi-final and Antrim in the final by 2-28 to 0-12. Defeated Limerick and Cork in the Munster championship before losing to Clare in the Munster final by 1-17 to 2-10.


Number of Munster Under 21 Hurling titles 3 20
Last Munster Under 21 Hurling  Title 2013 2010
Munster Under 21 Hurling  Championship Record since 2000 Played – 22
Won – 11
Lost – 11
Drawn – 0
Played – 31
Won – 20
Lost – 9
Drawn – 2
Last meeting in the Munster Under 21 Hurling  Championship August 7th 2013 in Munster final at Semple Stadium Thurles –
Clare 1-17 Tipperary 2-10
What happened 3 years ago?

2011 Munster Minor Hurling Championship Round-up

Defeated Kerry by 6-24 to 1-8 in the Munster quarter-final.

Defeated Tipperary by 3-13 to 1-13 in the Munster semi-final.

Defeated Waterford by 1-20 to 3-9 in the Munster final.

Lost to Galway by 1-23 to 1-18 in the All Ireland semi-final.

Lost to Waterford by 2-16 to 1-13 in the Munster quarter-final.

Defeated Cork by 2-16 to 1-9 in play-off game.

Lost to Clare by 3-13 to 1-13 in the Munster semi-final.

Lost to Galway by 1-23 to 1-18 in the All Ireland semi-final.



Wednesday June 4th  

@ Páirc na nGael Limerick            Clare 2-20                 Limerick 1-14


Wednesday July 16th

@ Cusack Park Ennis                                Clare v Tipperary                              @ 7:30pm

@ Walsh Park Waterford                            Cork v Waterford                              @ 7:30pm


Wednesday July 30th

@ TBC                                  Semi-final 1 winner v Semi-final 2 winner          @ 7:30pm

Munster Under 21 Hurling Championship Roll Of Honour

Tipperary (20) – 1964, 1965, 1967, 1972, 1978, 1979, 1980, 1981, 1983, 1984, 1985, 1989, 1990, 1995, 1999, 2003, 2004, 2006, 2008, 2010

Cork (18) – 1966, 1968, 1969, 1970, 1971, 1973, 1975, 1976, 1977, 1982, 1988, 1991, 1993, 1996, 1997, 1998, 2005, 2007

Limerick (6) – 1986, 1987, 2000, 2001, 2002 , 2011

Waterford (3) – 1974, 1992, 1994

Clare (3) – 2009, 2012, 2013

Munster Under 21 Hurling Championship – List of Winning Teams

Visit the Munster GAA web site History section to view the complete list of each winning team since the competition began in1964 –

Munster Under 21 Hurling Cup

Corn na Cásca presented by the Munster Council in 1966 to commemorate the jubilee of the 1916 Rising.

All Ireland Under 21 Hurling Championship

In the Under 21 Hurling All Ireland Roll of Honour, Cork top the charts along with Kilkenny with 11 titles. Galway have 10 titles followed by Tipperary with 9. Limerick have won 4 All-Ireland titles in this grade. Clare have won 3 titles (all in the last 5 years) while Waterford have 1 title.

Useful Information

Clare are seeking to win 3 Munster and All Ireland titles in a row. Limerick were the last to achieve the Munster and All Ireland 3 in a row double between 2000 and 2002. Tipperary also won 3 in a row Munster and All Ireland titles between 1979 and 81 while Cork achieved the 4 in a row of Munster and All Ireland titles between 1968 and 1971.

Clare have gone on to win the All Ireland title on each of the occasions they have been Munster champions.

Since 2007, 4 of the 5 counties in the Munster Under 21 Hurling Championship have won the title – Cork (2007), Tipperary (2008 and 2010), Clare (2009, 2012 and 2013) and Limerick (2011).

The Munster Under 21 Hurling champions have captured the All-Ireland crown on 7 occasions since 2000 – Limerick (2000, 2001, 2003), Clare (2009, 2012, 2013) and Tipperary (2010). In the other 7 years the Munster championship winners which failed to go on to win the All Ireland title were Tipperary (2003, 2004, 2006, 2008),Cork (2005, 2007) and Limerick (2011).