AHL Division 1A Relegation Playoff – Dublin 4-13 Waterford 1-17

Dublin defeated Waterford by 4-13 to 1-17 in the Allianz Hurling League Division 1A Relegation Play-Off on Sunday March 30th at Walsh Park Waterford.

Goals vital as Dublin relegate Waterford to IB


Report from the GAA.ie web site

A Danny Sutcliffe double alongside Paul Ryan and Colm Cronin goals helped Dublin towards the safety net of Division IA hurling for 2015 against fourteen man Waterford at Walsh Park. Shane O’Sullivan was dismissed on a straight red card after 28 minutes and that helped Dublin recover from a shaky start.

After trailing by five points at one stage, they led by 2-6 to 1-8 at half time. Sutcliffe’s quick fire strikes early in the second half put clear water between the teams. An injury hit Waterford battled with Shane Fives and Pauric Mahony carrying the fight to the finish. Mahony raised ten white flags.

Waterford blasted the first five points as they burst out of the traps. Ray Barry and Brian O’Sullivan scored within the opening minute, and Pauric Mahony tagged on three more (two from frees) to put them five up after merely seven minutes of action. Against the grain, Danny Sutcliffe earned a 21 metre free on ten minutes which Paul Ryan buried to the ceiling of the net. McCrabbe narrowed to one from a free before Mahony and McCrabbe swapped frees (0-6 to 1-2). Stephen Molumphy was forced off through injury but his replacement Darragh Fives made an immediate impression on 21 minutes.

He collected a pass from Seamus Prendergast on the left wing to smash low past Gary Maguire (1-6 to 1-3). Mahony extended the lead to four before disaster struck for the Déise in similar fashion to three weeks previous. Shane O’Sullivan received a straight dismissal with eight minutes remaining after connecting high on Michael Carton. The Dubs cashed in as McCrabbe converted a free before Colm Cronin gathered a pass from Mark Schutte to place a bullet to the corner beyond the dive of Ian O’Regan. Mahony nudged the hosts back in front with his fourth free but Mark Schutte and Ryan O’Dwyer sent Dublin into the lead for the first time at the break by the bare minimum.

Mahony levelled for the third time on the restart. Sutcliffe then struck two goals in the space of two minutes. Paul Ryan teed up the first on 42 minutes and two minutes later he fielded a Michael Carton delivery to rustle the top corner. Seven points to the good, Dublin relaxed slightly and allowed Pauric Mahony land a booming score followed by another from substitute Shane Walsh.

Shane Fives performed a splendid man marking job on Conal Keaney and Dublin went ten minutes without a score but Conor McCormack, Paul Ryan and Alan McCrabbe eased them out to eight. Waterford closed with consolation points from Ryan Donnelly with two and Mahony’s tenth of the afternoon.
Scorers for Waterford: Pauric Mahony 0-10 (7fs), D Fives 1-0, R Donnelly 0-2, S Walsh, J Nagle, R Barry, B O’Sullivan 0-1 each.

Scorers for Dublin: D Sutcliffe 2-0, A McCrabbe 0-6 (3fs), P Ryan 1-2 (1-0f), C Cronin 1-0, R O’Dwyer 0-2, C Keaney, M Schutte, D O’Callaghan 0-1 each.

WATERFORD: S O’Keeffe; T Bourke, S Fives, N Connors; J Nagle, M Walsh, K Moran; K Moran, S Molumphy; J Barron, Pauric Mahony, A Gleeson; R Barry, S Prendergast, B O’Sullivan
Subs: D Fives for Molumphy (20), S Walsh for Prendergast (43), E Barrett for D Fives (47), R Donnelly for Gleeson (58), S Roche for Barry (65).

DUBLIN: G Maguire; S Durkin, P Kelly, P Schutte; J Boland, L Rushe, M Carton; C Cronin, J McCaffrey; R O’Dwyer, A McCrabbe, C Keaney; P Ryan, D Sutcliffe, M Schutte
Subs: D O’Callaghan for Cronin (49), C McCormack for McCaffrey (53), N McMorrow for Keaney (59), C O’Callaghan for P Schutte (66).

Referee: J Ryan (Tipperary)

Team News


Waterford Senior Hurling Team to play Dublin in the Division 1 Relegation game on Sunday in Walsh Park at 3.30pm is as follows:

1. Stephen O’Keeffe Ballygunner
2. Noel Connors Passage
3. Shane Fives Carrigtwohill
4. Tadgh de Burca Clashmore/Kinsalebeg
5. Shane O Sullivan Ballygunner
6. Michael Walsh Stradbally
7. Philip Mahony Ballygunner
8. Kevin Moran De La Salle
9. Stephen Molumphy Ballyduff Upper
10. Jamie Barron Fourmilewater
11. Pauric Mahony Ballygunner
12. Austin Gleeson Mount Sion
13. Brian O Sullivan Ballygunner
14. Seamus Prendergast Ardmore
15. Ray Barry Lismore

Dublin (SH v Waterford) – Gary Maguire; Shane Durkin, Peter Kelly, Paul Schutte; Joey Boland, Liam Rushe, Michael Carton; Colm Cronin, Johnny McCaffrey; Conal Keaney, Danny Sutcliffe, Ryan O’Dwyer; Paul Ryan, Mark Schutte, Alan McCrabbe