AHL Division 1 Quarter-Final – Galway 1-20 Limerick 1-12

Galway defeated Limerick by 1-20 to 1-12 in the Allianz Hurling League Division 1 Quarter-Final on Sunday March 30th at the Gaelic Grounds Limerick.

Impressive Galway cruise past Limerick


Report from the GAA.ie web site

Galway powered past Limerick to seal an Allianz Hurling League semi-final slot against Kilkenny in three weeks time. The gulf between Divisions IA and IB looked cavernous as Anthony Cunningham’s side out hurled and out muscled Limerick at the Gaelic Grounds.

A first-half penalty from Conor Cooney helped Galway on their way as they dampened a sprightly start from the home side who led by 0-5 to 0-2 after nine minutes. But once Galway plugged a few holes in their defence and denied James Ryan the room to run at them, they finished the half strongly as points from Cooney, the excellent Jonathan Glynn and David Burke gave them a 1-8 to 0-8 interval advantage.

It was more of the same after the break as Cooney, Niall Burke and Padraig Brehony all found the target as Galway opened out their lead to six points by the 40th minute.Graeme Mulcahy pegged them back somewhat with a fine point, but there was no stopping Galway, as Cooney, David Burke and Glynn all contributed handsomely.

Joe Canning made his return to the maroon shirt with 17 minutes remaining, but by the time of his introduction the result was beyond doubt.
Ryan rattled the net with an injury-time goal, but Limerick were outclassed and now face a long wait until they get their defence of the Munster championship underway against Tipperary on June 1.
Scorers for Galway: C Cooney 1-9 (1-0 pen, 5f, 4’65), J Glynn 0-2, David Burke 0-3, P Brehony 0-2, C Mannion, N Healy, N Burke, D Hayes 0-1 each

Scorers for Limerick: J Ryan 1-3, S Dowling 0-3 (2f, 1’65), K Downes 0-3, C Allis, G Mulcahy, A Dempsey 0-1

GALWAY: C Callanan; F Moore, R Burke, Daithí Burke; A Harte I Tannian, D Collins; J Coen, P Brehony; N Burke, C Cooney, David Burke; J Glynn, N Healy, C Mannion
Subs: J Canning for N Burke (53), J Flynn for Mannion (58), K Hynes for Harte (62), D Hayes for David Burke (62), G McInerney for Healy (66),

LIMERICK: N Quaid; C King, P O’Loughlin, T Condon; P O’Brien, W McNamara, G O’Mahony; D O’Grady, P Browne; K Downes, J Ryan, D reidy; G Mulcahy, S Dowling, C Allis
Subs: A Dempsey for Browne (55), M Carmody for King (62), W Hickey for Reidy (65).

Referee: Brian Gavin (Offaly)

Team News


The Limerick senior hurling management has announced their team and panel in their quarter final game against Galway in the Allianz hurling league at the Gaeic Grounds on this Sunday afternoon at 3.30pm. The team is named as follows:

1, Nickie Quaid, (Effin), 2. Cathal King (Na Piarsaigh), 3. Philip O Loughlin (Kilmallock), 4. Tom Condon (Knockaderry), 5. Paudie O’Brien (Kilmallock)(Vice Capt), 6. Wayne McNamara (Adare), 7.Gavin O Mahony, 8. Donal O’Grady (Granagh/Ballingarry), 9. Paul Browne (Bruff), 10. Kevin Downes (Na Piarsaigh), 11. James Ryan (Garryspillane), 12. David Reidy (Dromin/Athlacca), 13. Graeme Mulcahy (Kilmallock), 14. Shane Dowling (Na Piarsaigh) and 15. Conor Allis (Croom).

Match Panel is as follows:

16. Aaron Murphy (Hospital/Herbertstown), 17. Stephen Walsh (Glenroe), 18. Mark Carmody (Patrickswell), 19. Richie McCarthy (Blackrock), 20. Dan Morrissey (Ahane), 21. Alan Dempsey (Na Piarsaigh), 22. Thomas Ryan (South Liberties), 23. Michael Ryan (Doon). 24. William Hickey (South Liberties), 25. Thomas O Brien (Patrickswell) and 26. Tommy Quaid (Effin)

Galway team to play Limerick: Colm Callanan (Kinvara); Fergal Moore (Turloughmore), Ronan Burke (Turloughmore), Johnny Coen (Loughrea); David Collins (Liam Mellowes), Iarla Tannian (Ardrahan), Daithi Burke (Turloughmore); David Burke (St Thomas), Padraig Brehony (Tynagh Abbey-Duniry); Aidan Harte (Gort), Niall Burke (Oranmore-Maree), Niall Healy (Craughwell); Jonathan Glynn (Ardrahan), Conor Cooney (St Thomas), Cathal Mannion (Ahascragh-Fohenagh)