Buy or Renew your GAA Season Ticket for 2019 now

Allianz Football League Division 1 – Cork 2-14 Tyrone 0-20

Cork drew with Tyrone on a scoreline of 2-14 to 0-20 in round 6 of the Allianz Football League Division 1 on Sunday March 30th at Pairc Uí Rinn, Cork.

Source: TG4

Cork advance to semis with Tyrone draw


Report from the web site

Cork secured a spot in the semi-finals of the Allianz Football League Division I despite being held by Tyrone at Páirc Uí Rinn on Sunday. Trailing by 0-12 to 1-5 at half-time, the home side upped their game considerably in the second period, with a goal by sub Colm O’Neill helping to turn matters in their favour. Three late points from Seán Cavanagh, Kyle Coney and Ronan O’Neill earned the visitors a point, however.

Despite the victory, for long periods Cork found themselves under pressure, especially in the first half when a Coney-inspired Tyrone looked imperious. Coney would kick six points in the opening 35 minutes, with Darren McCurry also impressing for them as the Cork full-back line struggled to deal with quick ball in. At the other end, Brian Hurley was the brightest light for Cork, for whom Paul Kerrigan had scored a fifth-minute goal to cancel out three Tyrone points in as many minutes from the throw-in.

While Cork suffered injuries to corner-backs Eoin Cadogan and Noel Galvin in the second half, they managed to get on top and O’Neill kicked two good points from frees as well as his 52nd-minute goal from Andrew O’Sullivan’s pass. That made it 2-10 to 0-13 for Brian Cuthbert’s side, and they looked to have secured the points when they were 2-14 to 0-17 ahead with four minutes left. Tyrone had other ideas, though.
Scorers for Cork: B Hurley 0-5 (0-2 frees), C O’Neill 1-2 (0-2 frees), P Kerrigan 1-0, J Hayes, J O’Rourke 0-2 each, M Shields, C O’Driscoll, Barry O’Driscoll 0-1 each.

Scorers for Tyrone: K Coney 0-9 (0-1 free), D McCurry 0-4 (0-2 frees), N Morgan 0-2 (0-1 free, 0-1 45), P Harte, S Cavanagh, C McAliskey 0-1 (0-1 free), R O’Neill (0-1 free), M Penrose each.

CORK: D Hanrahan; E Cadogan, Tom Clancy (Clonakilty), N Galvin; J Loughrey, M Shields, Tomás Clancy (Fermoy); A O’Sullivan, F Goold; M Collins, P Kerrigan, J O’Rourke; D Goulding, B Hurley, J Hayes
Subs: J O’Sullivan for Tomás Clancy (27, black card), C O’Neill for D Goulding (HT), P Kelly for Cadogan (39, injured), Barry O’Driscoll for Galvin (42), C O’Driscoll for Kerrigan (48), A Cronin for Hayes (70).

TYRONE: N Morgan; A McCrory, R McNamee, R McKenna; T McCann, Matthew Donnelly, P Harte; C Cavanagh, S Cavanagh; Mark Donnelly, S McGuigan, C McGinley; C McCurry, K Coney, C McAliskey
Subs: D McBride for McCann (27), R O’Neill for McCurry (52), M Penrose for McAliskey, C Gormley for McGinley (both 54), N McKenna for Mark Donnelly (58), K Gallagher for McGuigan (66).

Referee: D Coldrick (Meath).

Team News

The Cork Senior Football team to play Tyrone on Sunday at 2pm in Páirc Uí Rinn will line out as follows:

David Hanrahan (Douglas)
Eoin Cadogan (Douglas)
Tom Clancy (Clonakilty)
Noel Galvin (Ballincollig)
Tomás Clancy (Fermoy)
Michael Shields (St. Finbarr’s – Captain)
James Loughrey (Mallow)
Aidan Walsh (Kanturk)
Fintan Goold (Macroom)
John O’Rourke (Carbery Rangers)
Paul Kerrigan (Nemo Rangers)
Mark Collins (Castlehaven)
Daniel Goulding (Éire Og)
Brian Hurley (Castlehaven)
John Hayes (Carbery Rangers)

Brian Cuthbert has made eight changes in personnel and a number of positional switches following the loss to Mayo on March 16th. David Hanrahan, last year’s U21 goalkeeper, makes his senior début, while Noel Galvin replaces Kevin Crowley at corner back. Eoin Cadogan moves to the other corner, with Tom Clancy filling the full back berth. Tomás Clancy moves back to wing back in place of Conor Dorman, while James Loughrey returns to the side, replacing Alan Cronin on the other wing, and Michael Shields moves to centre back. Fintan Goold is preferred to Andrew O’Sullivan at mid-field, and John O’Rourke, who scored a vital goal in his substitute appearance against Mayo, replaces Colm O’Driscoll. Mark Collins comes in at wing forward, and John Hayes starts ahead of Donncha O’Connor.

Tyrone team to play Cork: Niall Morgan (Éadan na dTorc); Aidan McCrory (Aireagal Chiaráin, Ronan McNamee (Achadh Uí Aráin), Ryan McKenna (Eaglais); Tiernan McCann (Coill an Chlochair), Matthew Donnelly (Trí Leac), Peter Harte (Aireagal Chiaráin); Colm Cavanagh (An Mhaigh), Sean Cavanagh (An Mhaigh); Ciaran McGinley (Aireagal Chiaráin), Shay McGuigan (Ard Bó), Mark Donnelly (An Charraig Mhór); Darren McCurry (Éadán na dTorc), Kyle Coney (Ard Bó), Connor McAliskey (Cluain Eo).