Waterford Crystal Cup Preliminary Round – Limerick 3-15 Mary I 0-13

Limerick set up early date with Tipp

By Brendan Buckley for the Irish Examiner newspaper

Limerick 3-15 Mary Immaculate College 0-13

The Limerick and Tipperary hurlers are set for an early season dress rehearsal of their June Munster championship clash after John Allen’s Shannonsiders finally ended their losing run in the Waterford Crystal Cup. Limerick had to go back to 2006 for their last victory in their opening competitive fixture of the year prior to this comfortable victory over Mary Immaculate College in Fitzgerald Park in Kilmallock on Saturday. The 11-point win books a quarter-final tie away to Eamon O’Shea’s Premier County side next weekend.

Mary Immaculate College were making their maiden voyage in the competition and were on the back foot within 20 seconds when last year’s captain David Breen ghosted in behind the defence for Limerick’s opening goal and by half-time the students were 2-8 to 0-5 in arrears. Breen’s goal was matched by another Shane Dowling in the 23rd minute as he blasted to the net after a series of passes between Kevin Downes, Sean Tobin and Dowling.

Allen admitted: “We worked hard in the first half, albeit I wouldn’t be too pleased with how we did in the second half. We lost our way a small bit. We are trying to build a team for June so it was good to see players getting a chance and now we have another outing next week.” Any chance of a second half comeback was thwarted eight minutes after the restart when a John Conlon penalty was saved. Luke O’Farrell and Sean Curran had points for the students but Limerick crushed the comeback as Dowling had their third goal 20 minutes from the end. Niall Moran, Conor Allis and David Reidy added points with the reply coming from Clare seniors Conlon and Colm Galvin.

Scorers for Limerick: S Dowling 2-5 (4f), N Moran 0-4, D Breen 1-0, C Allis 0-2, S Tobin, D Reidy, K Downes, S Hickey 0-1 each.

Scorers for Mary Immaculate College: J Conlon 0-5 (4f), S Curran 0-3 (1f),C Galvin 0-2, D Hannon (’65), L O’Farrell, B O’Halloran 0-1 each.

LIMERICK: N Quaid; T Condon, R McCarthy, S O’Neill; C King, W McNamara, G O’Mahony; D O’Grady, J Ryan; D Breen, C Allis, N Moran; S Dowling, K Downes, S Tobin.

Subs: D Reidy for Tobin (35), T Quaid for Allis (49), S Hickey for O’Grady (51), R Egan for Ryan (57), T O’Brien for Downes (54).

MARY IMMACULATE COLLEGE: N Carrig (Limerick); K Fennessy (Clare), R O’Donnell (Limerick), M McGrath (Tipperary); E Hogan (Tipperary), D Hannon (Limerick), D O’Carroll (Cork); L Considine (Limerick), C Galvin (Clare); S Curran (Tipperary), W Hickey (Limerick), B O’Halloran (Waterford); E Hogan (Tipperary), J Conlon (Clare), L O’Farrell (Cork).

Subs: M O’Connell (Limerick for Hogan (34), A Cagney (Cork) for McGrath (49).

Referee: D Fox (Clare)

Team News

The Limerick Senior Hurling panel to play Mary I on Saturday is as follows –

1, Nicky Quaid (Effin)

2, Tom Condon (Knockaderry)

3, Richie McCarthy (Blackrock)

4, Shane O Neill (South Liberties)

5, Cathal King (Na Piarsaigh)

6, Wayne McNamara (Adare)

7, Gavin O Mahony (Kilmallock)

8, Donal O Grady (Granagh/Ballingarry)

9, James Ryan (Garryspillane)

10, David Breen (Na Piarsaigh)

11, Conor Allis (Croom)

12, Niall Moran (Ahane)

13, Shane Dowling (Na Piarsaigh)

14, Kevin Downes (Na Piarsaigh)

15, Seanie Tobin (Murroe/Boher)

16, Aaron Murphy (Hospital/Herbertstown)

17, Seamus Hickey (Murroe/Boher)

18, David Moloney (Blackrock)

19, Barry O Connell (Kildimo/Pallaskenry)

20, Tommy Quaid (Effin)

21, Robbie Egan (Kilmallock)

22, Thomas O Brien (Patrickswell)

23, David Reidy (Dromin/Athlacca)

24, Mikey Ryan (Murroe/Boher)

25, Stephen Walsh (Glenroe)

For the Record

Limerick Mary I
2012 Waterford Crystal Cup Performance Lost to Clare by 2-13 to 1-15 in a Quarter-Final replay Did not take part
Number of Waterford Crystal Cup Senior Hurling titles 1 0
Last Waterford Crystal Cup Senior Hurling Title 2006 N/A
Waterford Crystal Cup Senior Hurling Record since 2006 Played – 9
Won – 4
Lost – 4
Drawn – 1
Played – 0
Won – 0
Lost – 0
Drawn – 0

Waterford Crystal Cup Senior Hurling 2013

Preliminary Round (Extra Time)

Saturday January 19th

@ Bruff                                               Limerick v Mary Immaculate College                      @ 11:30am

@ The Mardyke                                 Cork v UCC                                                               @ 12:00pm

Sunday January 20th

@ Abbeydorney                                Kerry v IT Tralee                                                        @ 1:00pm

@ WIT GAA Grounds                       Waterford v University of Limerick                         @ 2:00pm

Quarter-Finals (Extra Time)

Sunday January 27th

@ Waterford or Clare venue            Clare v Waterford or UL

@ Cork venue or TBC                      WIT v Cork or UCC

@ Tipperary venue                           Tipperary v Limerick or Mary I

@ Kerry venue or TBC                     LIT v Kerry or IT Tralee

Semi-Finals (Extra Time)

Sunday February 3rd

Final (Extra Time)

Sunday February 10th

Waterford Crystal Cup Senior Hurling – Odds and Ends

35 goals were scored in the 2012 Waterford Crystal Cup competition over 11 matches (an average of 3.2 goals per match). This contrasts with 23 goals in the 2011 competition over 10 matches (an average of 2.3 goals per match).

Since the Waterford Crystal Cup began in 2006, Clare (15 wins), Tipperary (13 wins) and Waterford (13 wins) have accounted for 41 of the 71 victories in the competition (58%).

Tipperary hold the record for the longest winning streak in the Waterford Crystal Cup since the competition began under that guise in 2006 when they won 10 consecutive matches between 2007 and 2009.

None of the five teams who take part in the Munster Senior Hurling Championship have a losing record in the Waterford Crystal Cup since 2006.

Since the Waterford Crystal Cup began in 2006, 66 games have been played with just 1 draw – the 2012 Limerick v Clare Quarter-Final after two periods of extra time.

The record of the Third Level Colleges in the Waterford Crystal Cup since 2006 is Won 19, Lost 39, a 33% success rate.

Waterford have won 8 of the last 9 matches in the Waterford Crystal Cup.

Limerick have failed to win a Waterford Crystal Cup match since winning the competition in 2006, a run of 5 matches without success.

Clare are the only team who have won at least one game each year since the Waterford Crystal Cup competition began in 2006.

IT Tralee is the only team not to win a game in the Waterford Crystal Cup since 2006, losing their first match in the last 5 seasons.

Waterford Crystal Cup Senior Hurling Roll Of Honour

Tipperary (3) – 2007, 2008, 2012

Waterford (2) – 2010, 2011

Clare (1) – 2009

Limerick (1) – 2006

Mary Immaculate College

The Mary Immaculate College Panel for the Waterford Crystal Cup is as follows –

Robert O’ Donnell Limerick

Andrew Cagney Cork

Mark Monaghan Galway

Thomas McGrath Tipperary

Conor Cooney Galway

William Hickey Limerick

Matthew Collier Laois

Michael Hyland Laois

Stephen McDonnell Limerick

Darragh O’Carroll Cork

Eanna Hogan Tipperary

Eoin Hogan Tipperary

Shane Nolan Tipperary

Cillian Fennessy Clare

Aidan Hennessy Limerick

Andrew Ryan Tipperary

Killian Fitzgerald Waterford

Sean Curran Tipperary

Brian O’Halloran Waterford

David O’Connor Tipperary

Niall O’Meara Tipperary

Declan Hannon Limerick

John Conlon Clare

Luke O’Farrell Cork

Lar Considine Limerick

Colm Galvin Clare