Dr. Harty Cup Senior A Hurling Quarter-Final – Our Lady’s Templemore 2-5 Midleton CBS 0-10

Kennedy calls the tune with brilliant winner

Report from the Irish Independent newspaper

Our Lady’s, Templemore 2-5 Midleton CBS 0-10

BRIAN KENNEDY scored a brilliant late point to secure a dramatic victory for Our Lady’s in Cahir. Kennedy struck for his third point of the match in the second minute of stoppage time to set up a semi-final showdown with 2010 and 2011 Harty Cup winners Ardscoil Ris. Midleton, whose last Harty success came in 1978, trailed by three points at half-time, 2-3 to 0-6, but the Cork side came storming back in the second half.

Joe Mellerick’s proficiency from placed balls saw the midfielder notch eight points for Midleton, but they managed just two points from play during the entire game. Niall Motherway’s 42nd-minute point tied the game at 0-10 to 2-4 and, as the match hung on a knife-edge, 20 minutes elapsed before Kennedy’s decisive intervention. The closest Midleton came to a goal was when they had a 20-metre free blocked on the line, while Jake O’Donoghue clipped the outside of the post. But Templemore survived to keep alive their hopes of a first Harty crown in 35 years.

Colin O’Riordan and John McGrath, dual All-Ireland minor medallists, were partners at midfield and it was McGrath who scored Templemore’s opening goal in the seventh minute as his ’65’ ended up in the back of the net. Tommy Nolan scored a superb goal in the 18th minute, whipping on a loose ball 30 yards out to put Templemore 2-2 to 0-6 in front.

Scorers – Our Lady’s Templemore: J McGrath (1-0 ’65’, 0-1f), T Nolan 1-1 each; B Kennedy 0-3. Midleton CBS: J Mellerick 0-8 (7f, 1 ’65’), N Motherway, B Dunne 0-1 each.

OUR LADY’S TEMPLEMORE – SP Guerins; J Bergin, J Ryan, D Brereton; M Campion, J Nyland, P Hogan; C O’Riordan, J McGrath; JJ Ryan, D Carey, T Nolan; B Kennedy, T Maher, D McEnroe. Subs: B O’Connell for Ryan (36), T Brett for Campion (44), J Bergin for Carey (51), J Fogarty for Nolan (60+1).

MIDLETON CBS – S Beausang; A Staunton, D Quirke, J McGrath; A Kenneally, J McCarthy, M O’Keeffe; J Mellerick, N Motherway; J O’Donoghue, S Hegarty, K Walsh; D Cahill, B Dunne, P Nagle. Subs: B Aherne for Walsh (h-t), P McMahon for O’Donoghue (58).

Ref – M O’Connor (Limerick)

Match Preview

Both schools will enter this game with genuine ambitions of advancing to a semi-final. Midleton will be buoyed their recent Dr O’Callaghan (Cork Colleges Senior Hurling) cup victory and indeed have made huge strides since the start of the year, this no doubt was reflected in their last gasp win against Nenagh CBS in the final group game. Templemore much like Midleton have made steady progress since the competition began, with their most impressive result being a win over Blackwater CS. This promises to be a tight battle of two teams that on their day can match any in the province.

Midleton results to date

Midleton CBS 1-18 Col. Críost Rí Cork 0-9

Midleton CBS 1-10 Bandon H.S. 1-7

Thurles CBS 0-13 Midleton CBS 2-3

Midleton CBS 0-15 Nenagh CBS 1-11

Templemore Results to date

Our Lady’s Templemore 1-18 West Limerick Schs. 1-18

Our Lady’s Templemore 1-13 Charleville CBS 0-14

Our Lady’s Templemore 1-19 Blackwater C.S. 1-18

Our Lady’s Templemore 1-12 Abbey CBS Tipperary 0-7

Our Lady’s Templemore Panel

The Our Lady’s Templemore panel for the Dr. Harty Cup is as follows –

John McGrath – Loughmore\Castleiney

Tommy Maher – Loughmore\Castleiney

Denis Brereton – Loughmore\Castleiney

Joseph Nyland- Loughmore\Castleiney

Bill O’Connell – Loughmore\Castleiney

Jason Ryan – Toomevara (Captain)

Tommy Nolan – Drom\Inch

Jamie Bergin – Drom\Inch

Michael Campion – Drom\Inch

Kevin Ahearn – Drom\Inch

Kevin Hassett – Drom\Inch

Emmet Moloney – Drom\Inch

Joey Maher – Drom\Inch

Colm Kinane – Drom\Inch

Robert Ryan – Drom\Inch

Colin O’Riordan – JK Brackens

Sean Patrick Guerins – JK Brackens

James Bergin – JK Brackens

Jack Fogarty- JK Brackens

Dean Mcenroe – JK Brackens

Brian Kennedy – JK Brackens

Tommy Brett – JK Brackens

JohnJoe Ryan – Clonakenny

Paul Bergin – Clonakenny

Dylan Carey – Templederry Kenyons

Padraig Hogan – Templederry Kenyons

Matt Stapleton – Borris-Ileigh

Jacque Dowling – Erril\Rathdowney

Gary Russell – Moyne\Templetouhy

Shane Ryan – Moyne\Templetouhy

PJ Bourke – Upperchurch\Drombane

Midleton CBS Panel

1. Steven Beausang (Cloyne)

2. Alan Stanton (Midleton)

3. Darren Quirke (Midleton – Captain)

4. Jack McGrath (Russell Rovers)

5. Adrian Kenneally (Fr O’Neills)

6. James McCarthy (Kiltua Óg)

7. Mark O’Keeffe (Fr O’Neills)

8. Joe Mellerick (Fr O’Neills)

9. Niall Motherway (Kiltua Óg)

10. Paudie McMahon (Fr O’Neills)

11. Shane Hegarty (Kiltua Óg)

12. Jake O’Donoghue (Aghada)

13. David Cahill (Killeagh)

14. Billy Dunne (Fr O’Neills)

15. Padraig Nagle (Midleton)

16. Brian Rossiter (Midleton)

17. Seadnaidh Smith (Midleton)

18. Aaron Stafford (Aghada)

19. Bill Aherne (Kiltua Óg)

20. Brendan McCarthy (Carrigtwohill)

21. Kieran Walsh (Russell Rovers)

22. Eoin Keniry (Killeagh)

23. Jamie Stack (Kiltua Óg)

24. Kane Looney (Aghada)

25. Killian Broderick (Fr O’Neills)

26. Brian Cashman (Carrigtwohill)

27. Sean O’Farrell (Midleton)

28. Gavin Bagnell (Midleton)

29. Ciarán Gasnell (Carrigtwohill)

30. Darragh Cahill (Killeagh)

31. James Lawton (Kiltua Óg)

32. Liam Martin (Kiltua Óg)

33. Eoin O’Mahoney (Carrigtwohill)

34. Kevin Moynihan (Russell Rovers)

35. Daniel Landers (Killeagh)