Christy Ring Cup Senior Hurling Round 1 – Wicklow 2-20 Kerry 2-15

Kingdom gunned down in Wicklow ambush

Wicklow 2-20 Kerry 2-15

By Mark Kennedy for the Irish Examiner newspaper

With two 13-point wins over Wicklow under their belt in the past year, Kerry were shocked by Casey O’Brien’s men in their opening defence of their Christy Ring Cup title at Arklow on Saturday. John Meyler’s team had a tonic start with a gift of a goal by wing-forward Michael Boyle after just two minutes but found the tight marking, passion and spirit shown by the home side too much to handle. And their defence took a roasting from Wicklow’s lethal inside strike force, corner-forward Andy O’Brien and full-forward Jonathan ‘Bosco’ O’Neill who caused havoc as they racked up a massive 1-16.

On five minutes Andy O’Brien countered Boyle’s opening goal for Kerry and when Wayne O’Gorman sneaked home Wicklow’s second goal following a line-ball by Jonathan O’Neill, Wicklow were in the driving seat as they led 2-9 to 1-6 at half-time. Only back from injury a week earlier, Jonathan O’Neill was on top of his game as he scored 0-11 for Wicklow with eight of those points coming from frees. Shane Nolan hit Kerry’s second goal eight minutes from the end to narrow the gap to three points, 2-17 to 2-14, but still they could not break the resolve and defiance of a brave Wicklow team.

Scorers for Wicklow: J O’Neill 0-11 (8fs), A O’Brien 1-5, W O’Gorman 1-0, E Kearns 0-2, R Keddy, C Moorehouse 0-1 each.

Scorers for Kerry: S Nolan 1-3, M Boyle 1-1, S Brick (3fs), D O’Connell (1f) 0-4 each, W O’Dwyer 0-3.

WICKLOW: J Murphy; J Connors, G Keogh, B Cuddihy; J Henderson, S Kelly, G Bermingham; E Kearns, R Keddy; T Doyle, W O’Gorman, E Dunne; E Glynn, J O’Neill, A O’Brien.

Subs: C Moorehouse for W O’Gorman.

KERRY: B Rochford; J Godley, T Murnane, R Horgan; A O’Connor, P Costello, L Boyle; D Dineen, J Griffin; M Boyle, W O’Dwyer, D O’Connell; S Brick, P Boyle, S Nolan.

Subs: J Flaherty for P Boyle.

Referee: D Hughes (Carlow)

Team News

The Kerry Senior Hurling team Vs Wicklow Christy Ring Cup First Round, Arklow, Saturday 5th of May 2012 @ 2.30pm is as follows:

1 Bernard Rochford Killeagh, Co Cork

2 James Godley Kilmoyley

3 Tom Murnane Kilmoyley

4 Rory Horgan St Brendans

5 Ally O Connor Ballyduff

6 Paud Costelloe Ballyduff

7 Liam Boyle, Captain Ballyduff

8 Darren Dinneen St Brendans

9 John Griffin Lixnaw

10 Michael Boyle Ballyduff

11 Willie O Dwyer Mullinavat, Co Kilkenny

12 Darragh O Connell Abbeydorney

13 Shane Brick Kilmoyley

14 Padraigh Boyle Ballyduff

15 Shane Nolan Crotta O’Neills

16 PJ Gorman Ballyduff

17 John Fitzgerald Causeway

18 James O Connor Abbeydorney

19 Anthony Fealy Causeway

20 Thomas Maloney St Brendans

21 James Flaherty Lixnaw

22 Mike Lynch Crotta O’Neills

23 Aidan Boyle Ballyduff

24 Pa Joe Connolly Ballyduff

25 Jason Casey Ballyheigue

26 Diarmuid Walsh Ballyheigue

27 Darren Wallace St Brendans

28 Eoin Kelly Duagh

29 Gary O Brien Ballyduff

30 Colin Harris Ballincollig, Co Cork

Team Management

Bainisteoir John Meyler

Coach Eddie Murphy

Selector John Hennessey

Selector Christy Walsh

Physiotherapist Trudy Tait

Logistics Seamus Regan

Statistics Liam Bergin

Hurling Officer Joe Walsh