Allianz Football League Division 3 – Roscommon 1-12 Tipperary 0-12

Devaney drives Rossies to victory

Roscommon 1-12 Tipperary 0-12

By Ian Cooney for the Irish Examiner newspaper

Tipperary’s credentials as promotion hopefuls from Division 3 suffered an early blow as their journey to Kiltoom proved fruitless. The destination of the points hinged on the defining score in the 46th minute. Roscommon had just surged two points clear and Tipp were on the attack when David Keenan made a crucial block. In a flash the ball was worked to John Rogers who sent a long delivery into Darren McDermott. The Castlerea St Kevin’s player set sail for goal and squared the ball for Devaney, who finished low to the net.

Roscommon were in the driving seat and when Tipperary lost their ace attacker Barry Grogan to a second yellow card, a comfortable victory for the home side looked likely. But Tipperary battled back and a couple of subs, including All-Ireland winning minor star Michael Quinlivan, helped their cause. Points from Philip Austin and substitute Shane Ryan eroded Roscommon’s deficit to a point with only two minutes remaining. But late points from centre back Niall Daly and Rogers gave Roscommon the spoils.

Scores for Roscommon: D Shine 0-3fs, C Devaney 1-0, J Rogers (2fs), G Heneghan, N Daly 0-2, M Finneran, K Higgins, D McDermott 0-1 each.

Scorers for Tipperary: P Austin (1f), B Grogan (3f) 0-4 each, S Ryan 0-2, Mulvihill, E Ryan 0-1 each.

ROSCOMMON: G Claffey; S McDermott, N Collins, S Ormsby; C Dineen, N Daly, S Purcell; M Finneran, K Higgins; D Keenan, D Shine, J Rogers; D McDermott, C Devaney, G Heneghan. Subs: D O’Gara for Dineen (60), C Cafferky for Ormsby (63), E Kenny for Heneghan (64), M Scally for McDermott (70).

TIPPERARY: M O’Donnell; R Costigan, P Codd, C McDonald; R Kiely, T Ryan, A Morrissey; B Jones, E Ryan; H Coghlan, D Butler, S Grogan, C Sweeney, P Austin, B Grogan. Subs: S Ryan for Butler (27), M Quinlivan for S Grogan (46), B Mulvihill for Sweeney (46), S Carey for Coghlan (64).

Referee: D Fahy (Longford)

Team News

The Tipperary team to play Roscommon on Sunday next is as follows –

1. Matthew O’Donnell (Killeneule)

2. Robbie Costigan (Cahir)

3. Paddy Codd (Killenaule)

4. Ciarán McDonald (Aherlow)

5. Robbie Kiely (Arravale Rovers)

6. Thomas Ryan (Kilsheelan Kilcash)

7. Andrew Morrissey (Galtee Rovers)

8. Brian Jones (Arravale Rovers)

9. Eoghain Ryan (Kilsheelan Kilcash)

10. Hugh Coghlan (Portlaoise, Laois)

11. David Butler (Drom & Inch)

12. Peter Acheson (Moyle Rovers)

13. Conor Sweeney (Ballyporeen)

14. Philip Austin (Borrisokane) CAPTAIN

15. Barry Grogan (Aherlow)

Na Fir Ionaid

16. Paul Fitzgerald (Fethard)

17. Donal Lynch (Clonmel Commercials)

18. John O’Callagan (Ballyporeen)

19. Jonathan Ryan (Ardfinnan)

20. Brian Fox (Éire Óg Annacarty)

21. Donncha Heffernan (Cappawhite)

22. Shane Ryan (Newport)

23. Sean Carey (Moyle Rovers)

24. Brian Mulvihill (Moyle Rovers)

25. Michael Quinlivan (Clonmel Commercials)

26. Seamus Grogan (Aherlow)


Allianz Football League Division 3, Round 1

Roscommon v Tipperary
At Pairc Naomh Bríd, Kiltoom on Sunday, February 5th at 2:30pm 

Neil Collins, Niall Daly and Darren McDermott will make their Allianz Football League debuts and the team in full is as follows:

1. Geoffrey Claffey     Naomh Caoimhin Cáislean Riabhach
2. Seán McDermott     Gaeil an Iarthair
3. Neil Collins     Naomh Caoimhin Cáislean Riabhach
4. Stephen Ormsby     Naomh Faithleach 

5. Cathal Dineen     Naomh Caoimhin Cáislean Riabhach
6. Niall Daly     Na Phiarsaigh
7. Seán Purcell     Mainistir na Búille

8. Michael Finneran     Naomh Dominic
9. Kevin Higgins     Gaeil an Iarthair

10. David Keenan     Naomh Bearraí
11. Donie Shine     Clann na nGael
12. John Rogers     Béal na mBuillí

13. Darren McDermott     Naomh Caoimhin Cáislean Riabhach
14. Conor Devanney     Cill Bhríde
15. Ger Heneghan     Naomh Caoimhin Cáislean Riabhach