Munster GAA Awards – Club of the Year


November 30th 2011


Jerry Ring was today announced as the winner of the Special Merit Award for the 2011 Bord Gáis Energy Munster GAA Awards. Originally from Millstreet, Co Cork, Ring has lived in Tipperary for many years and served with distinction as Secretary of the West Tipperary GAA Board for 29 years and was also a member of many County Board Committees for more than three decades.

Jerry has also provided invaluable print and photographic records of GAA activities around the Division and beyond during this period and is also a long serving member of the Tipperary Year Book Committee. He has presented a weekly half hour GAA programme on Tipperary Mid-West Community Radio also for many years. A gentleman to his fingertips, Jerry Ring is one of Munster’s finest GAA servants and his special merit award will be welcomed warmly throughout the province.

Ná Piarsaigh of Limerick have been chosen as the Club of the Year for 2011, following their first ever win in the Limerick Senior Hurling Championship. In addition to their historic Senior victory, Ná Piarsaigh were crowed Limerick County Hurling champions at Under 14, Under 16 and Minor grades and were runners-up in the Limerick Under 21 Hurling Championship. The club also won the City Division Junior Hurling title and were the runners-up in the National Feile ne nGael competition.

Speaking on the announcement of these winners, Bord Gáis Energy Sports Sponsorship Manager Ger Cunningham said “Jerry has been involved with the GAA both in Cork and in Tipperary for so many years of his life and has given so much to the sport both on and off the field. I am delighted that his dedication and commitment is being honoured this weekend with this prestigious award. Ná Piarsaigh have had an outstanding year and have produced some quality results at Junior and Senior levels and are certainly the club to watch at the Munster Club Final on Sunday.”


Sean Walsh said “Na Piarsaigh are a most deserving winner of the Club of the Year title. Having worked hard at underage level for many years, they finally made the breakthrough at Senior level in Limerick and may yet be crowned champions of Munster on Sunday next. To qualify for the final of every County hurling competition from Under 14 upwards shows a level of consistency which bodes well for the club in the future. Jerry Ring’s involvement in the GAA at so many levels over the years as a player, referee, administrator, scribe and photographer make him a most deserving winner of the Special Merit award.“

Other winners announced today were Jill Horan, Tipperary as Camogie Player of the Year, Cork’s Deirdre O’Reilly who took the Ladies Footballer of the Year award and Catriona Casey, also of Cork who was announced Handballer of the Year.


The Bord Gáis Energy Munster GAA Awards will take place this Saturday, 3 December at 8pm in the Malton Hotel, Killarney.

Full list of winners of the Bord Gáis Energy Munster GAA Awards for 2011 are as follows:

  • Hall of Fame Award Hurling – Gerald McCarthy, Cork
  • Hall of Fame Award Football – Paudie Lynch, Kerry
  • Senior Hurling Award – Lar Corbett, Tipperary
  • Senior Football Award – Declan O’Sullivan, Kerry
  • Special Merit Award – Jerry Ring, Tipperary
  • Media Award – Michael Scanlon, C103
  • Referee Award – Eddie Cunningham, Waterford
  • Education Award – Willie Dowling, Kerry
  • Manager of the Year – David Power, Tipperary
  • Distinguished Service to GAA Award – Gerry Bennis, Limerick
  • Under 21 Hurling Award – Aidan Walsh, Cork
  • Under 21 Football Award – Ciaran Sheehan, Cork
  • Minor Hurling Award – Tony Kelly, Clare
  • Minor Football Award – TJ Ryan, Tipperary
  • Camogie Award – Jill Horan, Cork
  • Ladies Football Award – Deirdre O’Reilly, Cork
  • Intermediate Hurling Award – Patrick Kelly, Clare
  • Handball Award – Catriona Casey, Cork
  • Junior Football – Andrew O’Sullivan, Cork
  • Club of the Year – Ná Piarsaigh, Limerick
  • Supporter of the Year – Cyril Kavanagh, Cork