Corn an Uachtaráin Senior B Football Final – Abbey CBS Tipperary 1-9 Carrigaline Community College 1-9

Munster Colleges SFC ‘B ‘Final

Abbey CBS Tipperary 1-9 Carrigaline Community School Cork 1-09

A dominant Abbey CBS side were lucky to come away from this Munster Colleges Senior Football ‘B’ final with a draw at the end of this game in Fermoy last Saturday. In truth the Abbey should have this game sewn up at half time but poor finishing and the concession of needless frees towards the end almost cost them this game. Indeed there was also much to admire in the Abbey performance. They gave Carrigaline an opening lead of 1-2 in the first ten minutes and then fought back to be just a point adrift at the break 1-3 to 0-5. Early in the second half Carrigaline again went four points ahead 1-7 to 0-6 but the Abbey drawing on their never say die attitude, fought back and following Diarmuid O’Donnell’s goal, went two points ahead 1-9 to 1-7 with seven minutes remaining. Then the concession of late frees which were converted gave Carrigaline a draw.

Conditions were excellent for this game and the Abbey had whatever wind assistance there was in the first half. However the were slow to start and points from Michael Lynch and Killian McIntyre and an opportunist goal by Jamie Kind had Carrigaline in the driving seat after ten minutes. The Abbey settled down and controlled the game for the rest of the half .They held Carrigaline scoreless for the next fifteen minutes and had drawn level 1-2 to 0-5. Liam Nagle got the ball rolling for the Abbey with a neat left-footed effort from play which was followed by a free from 48 metres out by Niall Daly. Christopher Ryan tacked on another point from play after good approach play from Daly and then Christopher Ryan turned provider for Killian Ryan who saw his fierce drive brilliantly tipped over by Killian O’Mahony in the Carrigaline goal. Niall Daly added a free after being fouled himself but Killian McIntyre gave Carrigaline the lead with a pointed free just before half time leaving the score 1-3 to 0-5.

The Abbey with a point from Liam Nagle were level early in the second half but again handed Carrigaline the initiative. Michael Lynch tacked on two points and one each from Jamie De Puis and Shane Griffin put Carrigaline C S ahead 1-7 to 0-6. At this stage the Abbey looked in trouble but good work by Fintan Ryan, Cillian Ryan, Oisin O’Mara, Diarmuid O’Donnell, Tomas O’Donoghue, Christopher Ryan and Niall Daly rallied the Tipperary boys. Leonard Vance soloed through for a point and frees by Liam Nagle and Niall Daly had only a point between the sides 1-7 to 0-9 with ten minutes remaining. Then came Diarmuid O’Donnell’s goal to put the Abbey ahead for the first time after great link up play between Niall Daly and substitute Kevin O’Donovan. Victory was in the air but lapses in concentration let Carrigaline back into the game for a draw in the final minutes.

Although the Abbey boys were disappointed, they will have learned much for the replay, on Wednesday March 2nd March in Fermoy at 2.30. They need to give a disciplined sixty minute performance and show an improvement in their shooting if they are to annex this title.

Abbey CBS: Dean Kelly (Kickhams); Matthew Ryan (Golden/Kilfeacle), Liam O’Dea (Pallasgreen), Oisín O’Meara (Kickhams); Thomas O’Donoghue (Lattin/Cullen),Fintan Ryan (Arravale Rovers), Ed O’Meara (Aherlow); Leonard Vance (Emly) (0-1), Killian Ryan (Arravale Rovers) (0-1); Brendan McGrath (Galtee Rovers), Diarmuid O’Donnell (Arravale Rovers) (1-0), Peter Mulhair (Arravale Rovers); Liam Nagle (Golden Kilfeacle) (0-3, 0-2f) ,Christopher Ryan (Golden Kilfeacle (0-1) ,Niall Daly (Galtee Rovers) (0-3f). Subs:Kevin O’Donovan (Oola) for Brendan Mc Grath.

Carrigaline C S: Killian O’Mahony; James Creagh, David Sheehan, Darragh O’Sullivan: Shane Griffin (0-1),Killian Mc Sweeney, Kevin O’Connell; Stephen Dwane, Kevin Kavanagh; Killian McIntyre ( 0-3)(0-2f),Jamie Kind (1-00),Paudie Kingston; Dan Mc Carthy, Michael Lynch (0-3 )(0-2f), Jamie De Puis (0-2)

Match Preview

Abbey CBS reach Munster SFC ‘B’ Final

On Saturday next the 19th of February the Abbey C.B.S., Tipperary travel to Fermoy to take on Carrigaline Community School, Cork in the Munster Senior Colleges ‘B’ Football final at 2.30pm. The Abbey will be aiming to win the Corn an Uachtarán for the sixth time following victories in 1997, 1998, 2005, 2007 & 2008. Standing in their way of the Abbey will be Carrigaline Community School who defeated competition favourites Rochestown, Cork (1-15 to 1-12 after extra-time) in the semi-final, and they are coached by former Kerry star Aodan Mac Gearailt.

For their part the Abbey accounted for Castletroy of Limerick in the opening round on a 0-8 to 0-5 scoreline. In the quarter-final the Abbey defeated Douglas C.S. 1-13 to 0-6 and it was another Cork school that the Abbey overcame in dramatic circumstances in the semi-final last month. Ballincollig Community School led the Abbey by three points as the game ticked into the last five minutes but a goal from Niall Daly, Galtee Rovers, and a point from Lattin/Cullen man Tomas O’Donoghue squeezed the Abbey through on a 1-6 to 0-8 scoreline to another Munster final.

Following Munster victories in ’07 and ’08 the Abbey have operated in the Corn Uí Mhuirí ‘A’ Colleges Football for the past two seasons falling to the might of Coláiste na Sceilge (Kerry) in last years quarter-final. The Abbey are backboned by players from West Tipperary and East Limerick with players from Arravale Rovers, Aherlow, Lattin/Cullen, Galtee Rovers, Golden, Solohead, Knockavilla/Donaskeigh Kickhams, Emly, Oola and Pallasgreen. The team is captained this season by Fintan Ryan (Arravale Rovers) and he will hope to follow in the footsteps of Cathal Moloney (Galtee Rvs. ’97), Peter Leonard (Aherlow ’98), Laurence Coskeran (Aherlow ’05), Daniel Quirke (Oola ’07) and Eoin Fitzgibbon (Oola ’08) in collecting the Corn an Uachtarán on Saturday evening. The team is coached by John Kiely, Galbally, former Limerick Inter County player and manager and Damien O’Brien Éire Óg , former Tipperary senior footballer.