Bord Gáis Energy GAA Hurling Under 21 ‘B’ All-Ireland Championship Final – Kerry 0-22 Meath 0-12

Kerry defeated Meath 0-22 to 0-12 in the Bord Gáis Energy GAA Hurling Under 21 ‘B’ All-Ireland Championship Final on Saturday in Semple Stadium Thurles.

The scores were level at the interval on a scoreline of 0-9 to 0-9. Kerry with wind advantage dominated the second half and ran out 10 point winners.

Kerry prove too strong for Royals

Saturday, September 11, 2010

From the web site

Familiarity certainly played a large part as Kerry claimed their second consecutive Bord Gáis Energy U21 B hurling title at Semple Stadium on Saturday evening with a 0-22 to 0-12 win over Meath. Of the 15 that started in the Kingdom’s 10-point win over Meath, 12 had been involved with the county senior panel this year and John Meyler – manager of both teams – said that was a big help. “The fitness was good, and as well as that they were all used to playing with each other, we tried to develop a club atmosphere with this team and the seniors. “I know it’s boring to say, but there’s a lot of hard work that’s not seen, you just have to keep at it and at it and at it.”

Level at 0-9 each at half-time, Kerry turned for the second half with the wind and with 17-year-old Padraig Boyle in fine form while Darragh O’Connell was deadly accurate from frees, they pulled away from their opponents. “We made hard work of it,” Meyler said. “We had a few goal chances early in the first half and I told the lads I wasn’t happy. We knew that once the forwards picked up we’d be in a good position. “Padraig Boyle went to centre-forward and that was the turning point, he caught a few balls and put them over the bar. “We were nervous in the first half, I don’t know what it was, we were jumpy.”

Meath, for whom Keith Keoghan and full-back Michael Dunne did well, did have some goal chances, but could not get past Kerry goalkeeper John Brendan O’Halloran. Meyler praised the netminder’s performance. “We had Bernard Rochford in with the senior team and the whole idea of getting him in was to give John Brendan confidence. He’s one for the future and we’ve got to work on that with him. Today was probably the best we’ve seen him all year.”

KERRY: JB O’Halloran; N Young, D O’Sullivan, J O’Connor; A Ryle, B O’Leary, P Monson; R Kenny (0-1), D Fitzelle; P Geaney, P Costelloe, D O’Connell (0-10, 0-5f, 0-1 65); S Nolan (0-3), P Boyle (0-6), J Flaherty (0-2).

Subs: A McCarthy for Geaney (40), P O’Keeffe for Costelloe (42), Costelloe for O’Leary (45-47, blood), R Nolan for Kenny (47), PJ Keane for Young (54), S Leen for Flaherty (60).

MEATH: S McGann; D Carthy, M Dunne, W Mahady; A Watters, C Doyle (0-1), D Kennedy (0-1); K Keoghan (0-5, 0-4f, 0-1 65), G Murphy; A Douglas (0-1), E Marsh, M O’Sullivan (0-1); B Slevin (0-2), N Heffernan, D Ralleigh (0-1).

Subs: N Fagan for Watters (25), T Ralleigh for Slevin (39), C Joyce for Marsh (43), B Murray for D Ralleigh (48), K Keena for (59).

Referee: D Connolly (Kilkenny)

Team News


The Kerry U21 Hurling team for the All-Ireland B Final Vs Meath in Thurles on Saturday 11th September is as follows:

1. John Brendan O’Halloran, Kilmoyley

2. Niall Young, Kilmoyley 3. Daire O’Sullivan, Kilmoyley 4 James O’Connor, Abbeydorney 5 Adrian Royle, Kilmoyley 6. Brian O’Leary, Abbeydorney 7. Padraig Monson Glen Rovers, Cork 8. Ronan Kenny, Ballyheigue 9. David Fitzelle, Kilmoyley 10. Darragh O’Connell, Abbeydorney 11. Paudie Costelloe, Ballyduff 12. Paul Geaney, Kilmoyley 13. Shane Nolan, Captain, Crotta O’Neill’s 14. Padraig Boyle, Ballyduff 15. James Flaherty, Lixnaw Substitutes are as follows:

16. Martin Stackpoole, Lixnaw

17. Patrick O’Keefe, Glenfesk

18. Richard Nolan, Crotta O’Neills

19. P J Keane, Abbeydorney

20. Andy McCarthy, Kilmoyley

21. Stephen Leen, Ardfert

22. Owen O’Sullivan, Crotta O’Neills

23. Jonathan Caffrey, Crotta O’Neills

24. Jason Leahy,Causeway

25. Darren Twomey, Crotta O’Neills

26. Paul Carroll, Ballyduff

27. Joe McElligott, Kilmoyley

28. Anthony Carroll, Ballyduff

29. Adrian Casey, Causeway

30. Paul Costelloe, Crotta O’Neills

31. Conor Fitzell (Kilmoyley)

32. Conor Harty Causeway INJURED

Manager; John Meyler, Cork

Selectors: John Hennessy, Ballyduff

Sean O’Shea, Dr. Crokes

Trainer: Joe O’Connor