Munster Intermediate Hurling Final – Cork 0-15 Waterford 0-13

Cork defeated Waterford by 0-15 to 0-13 in the Munster Intermediate Hurling Championship Final on Thursday in Fraher Field Dungarvan.

O’Sullivan to fore for Cork

From the Irish Independent newspaper

Cork 0-15 Waterford 0-13

Friday July 23 2010

Cork won the Munster Intermediate Hurling Championship for the second year in succession when they produced a superb performance to beat Waterford in a tight encounter in Dungarvan last night. Indiscipline cost the Cork defence dear in the first half as Waterford corner-forward Mark Gorman scored four points from frees. Waterford started off the second half well and opened up a five-point lead. However, Cork, with Michael O’Sullivan and Mark Harrington to the fore, got back on level terms by the 57th minute. Points from Billy Cooper and John Halbert were enough to see the Rebels lift the cup.

Scorers — Cork: E Conway 0-5 (0-4f, 0-1 ’65’), B Cooper, M O’Sullivan, D O’Callaghan(0-1f) 0-2 each, B Lawton, B Fitzgerald, M Harrington, J Halbert 0-1 each. Waterford: M Gorman 0-5 (0-5f), J Kearney, N Jacob 0-2 each, P Hurney, T Connors, B Phelan, T Ryan 0-1 each.

Cork — D McCarthy; M Walsh, C Fogarty, B Coleman; D Lucey, K Hartnett, M Ellis; D O’Callaghan, B Fitzgerald; E Conway, B Cooper, C Casey; M Harrington, B Corry, M O’Sullivan. Subs: S Corry for Lucey, B Lawton for Casey, J Halbert for Conway.

Waterford — A Power; S Kearney (Dungarvan), J O’Leary, S Kearney (Lismore); J Coffey, P Murray, J Hurney; B Phelan, N O’Murcadha; P Hurney, T Connors, J Kearney; M Gorman, N Jacob, D Murphy. Subs: S Fives for Hurney, T Ryan for Murphy, C O’Gorman for Gorman, C Carey for Hurney, P Mahony for Coffey.

Ref — M O’Connor (Limerick)

Team News

The Cork Intermediate team for Thursday’s Munster Final v Waterford (at Fraher Field, Dungarvan, 7.30pm) will line out as follows:

1. Declan McCarthy (Ballymartle)

2. Michael Walsh (Kildorrery)

3. Cian Fogarty (Killeagh)

4. Brendan Coleman (Ballinhassig)

5. Tadhg Healy (Buttevant)

6. Kevin Hartnett (Russell Rovers)

7. Mark Ellis (Millstreet)

8. Danny O’Callaghan (Ballinhassig)

9. Barry Fitzgerald (Douglas)

10. Eoin Conway (Fr. O’Neill’s)

11. Bill Cooper (Youghal)

12. Colm Casey (Inniscarra)

13. Mark Harrington (Douglas – Capt)

14. Brian Corry (Ballymartle)

15. Michael O’Sullivan (Tracton)




At Pairc Ui Chaoimh

Cork 1-18 Tipperary 1-12

Cork scorers