All-Ireland Senior Football Championship Qualifiers – Tipperary 0-13 Laois 0-12

Tipperary defeated Laois by 0-13 to 0-12 in the All-Ireland Senior Football Championship Qualifiers on Sunday in Semple Stadium Thurles.

GAA Qualifiers Round 1: Mulvihill wins it for Tipp

From the web site

Sunday, June 27, 2010

A point in injury time from sub Brian Mulvihill gave Tipperary a 0-13 to 0-12 victory over Laois in their GAA All-Ireland Football Senior Championship Qualifier Round 1 clash at Semple Stadium in Thurles on Sunday afternoon. In a game that was level eight times, both sides could put forward cases for having deserved victory, but in the heel of the hunt, Tipp showed the greater composure to eke out the win, whereas Laois had 11 wides in the second half. Playing with the wind in the first half, Tipp must have feared the worst when the half-time interval came with the sides level at 0-7 each, Tipp’s Barry Grogan with four of his side’s tally, but some canny changes by Tipp manager John Evans at half-time helped to keep them in the game after the restart.

Mulvihill was brought on, while George Hannigan was restationed from wing-forward to midfield and he had a hugely positive impact around the middle in that second period. Grogan would also continue his fine form, ending the game with seven points, and with time running out, Tipp seemed fairly safe, leading by 0-12 to 0-10. The lead could have been even greater, as Stephen Hahessy and Philip Austin both missed good goal opportunities for the home side in the second half. Late points, however, from Laois’s Padraig McMahon and John O’Loughlin then looked to have forced the game into extra time before Mulvihill popped up with his vital late intervention

Team News

LAOIS SF V Tipperary: Michael Nolan; Peter O’Leary, Mark Timmons, Denis Booth; John O’Loughlin, Cahir Healy, Padraig McMahon; Kevin Meaney, Brendan Quigley; Billy Sheehan, Niall Donoher, Padraig Clancy; Michael Tierney, Donie Kingston, Ross Munnelly

TIPPERARY SF V Laois: Matthew O’Donnell; Paddy Codd, Robbie Costigan, Alan Morrissey; Ciaran McGrath, Brian Jones, Brian Fox; George Hannigan, Kevin Mulryan; Seamus Hahessy, Hugh Coghlan, Peter Acheson; Philip Austin, Barry Grogan, Conor Sweeney.

Last year’s qualifiers
Tipperary 2-10 Louth 1-12; Sligo 1-13 Tipperary 1-12; Down 2-9 Laois 0-7.

2010 Championship
Kerry 2-18 Tipperary 2-6; Meath 2-13 Laois 1-16 (After extra-time); Meath 2-14 Laois 0-10 (replay).