Buy or Renew your GAA Season Ticket for 2019 now

Tony Forristal Under 14 Hurling tournament

Tipperary defeated Waterford by 3-7 to 2-2 in the Tony Forristal Under 14 hurling tournament final played on Sunday.

Results of the Tony Forristal Under 14 hurling tournament finals on Sunday:

Division 1 – Tipperary 3-7 Waterford 2-2

Division 2 – Tipperary ‘B’ 2-2 Waterford ‘B’ 2-7

Match Report

Tony Forrestal U14 Hurling 2009

Tipperary 3-7 Waterford 2-2

Report by Tom O’Donnell

Tipperary defeated Waterford in the final of the Tony Forrestal intercounty under 14 hurling tournament played in Mount Sion GAA grounds, Waterford on Sunday the 30th of August. The final score was Tipperary 3.07. to Waterford 0.12, Tipperary had qualified for the Final on Saturday 29th by virtue of winning section 1A of the competition, this section included Clare, Cork and Limerick. In the first round Tipperary drew with Clare 0.08 apiece. The second round finished Tipperary 3.05 to Cork 1.05 In the final round Tipperary faced Limerick who had a narrow win over Clare and had to win to stay in contention, the final score was Tipperary 3.07 Limerick 1.07 and Tipperary were in their second final in 3 years

Tipperary returned to the Mount Sion GAA grounds on Sunday to take on Waterford who had overcome Wexford in the semi-final, Tipperary won the toss and elected to play with a slight breeze, the game was at evenly matched for the first five minutes but then Waterford broke through for a well taken Goal, this spurred Tipperary into life and they dominated for the remainder of the half with goals from Tom Kirwan, Joshua Keane, and Jack Shelley, two pointed long range frees from Austin Tierney, Conor Lanigan, Jack Shelley and Tom Kirwan added points to leave the half time score at Tipperary 3.05 Waterford 1.02

The second half was a dour affair with Tipperary hounding the Waterford players on the ball and limiting them to a goal and a point in the second period, Tipperary added late points from Aidan Moloney and Kieran O’Dwyer to leave the Final score Tipperary 3.07 to Waterford 2.03. All the players and 5 substitutes gave it their all in the final. Joshua Keane Golden Kilfeacle Captain collected the trophy in what was Tipperary’s 10th Tony Forrestal victory, He also collected the player of the final award

Tipperary: Daryl Ryan, Roscrea, Jack Lineen, Dúrlas Og, Cathal Kennedy, Toomevara, Barry Heffernan, Eire Og Nenagh, Eoin Kehoe, Kilsheelan, Austin Tierney, Shannon Rvs, Kieran O’Dwyer, Holycross Ballycahill, Gerard Barlow, Golden Kilfeacle, Tom Kirwan, Ballybacon Grange, Ross Mulcahy, Moyle Rovers, Joshua Keane, Golden Kilfeacle, Brian Kennedy, J K Brackens, Jack Shelley, Mullinahone, Joey Knight, Portroe, Conor Lanigan, Dúrlas Og

Subs: Aidan Moloney, Newport, for Ger Barlow, Kevin Dunne, Dúrlas Og for Conor Lanigan, Fionnan O’Sullivan, Skeheenarinke, for Brian Kennedy, Jamie Woods, Holycross Ballycahill for Jack Shelley, Rory O’Regan, Moycarkey Borris for Joe Knight

Sub Goalie: Robert Larkin, Moyne Templetuohy

Tom Fox, Eire Og played against Clare and was injured against Cork

Sean Ryan, Sean Treacys played against Clare and Cork

Ronan Maher, Dúrlas Og played against Limerick

Mark Gleeson, Templederry & Mark McCarthy, Toomevara were injured in club games and were unable to take part

Coach: Kevin Butler Drom & Inch

Selectors: Tom O’Donnell, Golden Kilfeacle, Séamus Doran, Roscrea,Michael Hassett, Moycarkey Borris,Hugo Browne, Killenaule

Physio/First Aid: Sandra Molloy