Buy or Renew your GAA Season Ticket for 2019 now

All-Ireland SHC Qualifiers Phase 3 – Cork v Galway

All-Ireland Senior Hurling Championship Qualifiers Phase 3

Galway defeated Cork by 1-19 to 0-15 in Phase 3 of the All-Ireland Senior Hurling Championship Qualifiers on Saturday in Semple Stadium Thurles.

Match Report

Galway 1-19 Cork 0-15

Galway gained revenge over Cork and underlined their status as genuine All Ireland contenders with a 1-19 to 0-15 All Ireland Phase Three qualifier win over the Rebels at Semple Stadium, Thurles. Having lost to the Rebels following a late collapse at the same stage last year, Galway produced a brilliant second half display move into the All Ireland quarter final against Waterford next Sunday. After a poor first half played in wet conditions, the Tribesmen, who had Joe Canning in inspired form from paced balls led by one point, 0-8 to 0-7.

Galway charged out of the blocks after the break but they had to wait until the 61st minute before they got the goal their impressive attack deserved. Joe Canning stole clear behind the Cork defence and fired a shot straight at Donal Óg Cusack, but the ball deflected to Joe Gantley, who stroked into the empty net. Galway led 1-15 to 0-14. Cork sub Niall McCarthy had a great chance to grab a goal back in the dying minutes, but he shot badly wide when he should have drawn the Rebels within a point of their rivals. Galway finished much the stronger and Aonghus Callinan’s injury-time point gave the Tribesmen a seven-point victory.

Team News

The Cork team to play Galway in Saturdays qualifier is as follows:

1. Donal Óg Cusack (Cloyne)

2. Shane O’Neill (Bishopstown)

3. Eoin Cadogan (Douglas)

4. Shane Murphy (Erin’s Own)

5. John Gardiner (Na Piarsaigh)

6. Ronan Curran (St. Finbarr’s)

7. Seán Óg Ó hAilpín (Na Piarsaigh)

8. Tom Kenny (Grenagh)

9. Jerry O’Connor (Newtownshandrum)

10. Ben O’Connor (Newtownshandrum)

11. Pa Cronin (Bishopstown)

12. Timmy McCarthy (Castlelyons)

13. Kieran Murphy (Sars)

14. Aisake Ó hAilpín (Na Piarsaigh)

15. Patrick Horgan (Glen Rovers)

Match Preview

This will be the 31st championship clash between the counties, stretching back to 1901 when they met for the first time in the All-Ireland semi-final which Cork won by 7-12 to 1-3. Cork lead 26-4 from the previous 30 clashes with Galway’s four wins coming in 1975-79-85-2002. They meet for the second successive year, with Cork having won a qualifier tie in Semple Stadium last year. Galway’s last win over Cork was in the 2002 All-Ireland qualifiers when they ran out winners, 0-21 to 1-9 in Semple Stadium.

2009 Championship

Tipperary 1-19 Cork 0-19 (Munster quarter-final) Cork 3-19 Offaly 1-12 (All-Ireland qualifiers)

Kilkenny 2-20 Galway 3-13 (Leinster semi-final) Galway 2-18 Clare 1-11 (All-Ireland qualifiers)

Last Five Championship Clashes

2008: Cork 0-23 Galway 2-15 (All-Ireland qualifiers)

2005: Cork 1-21 Galway 1-16 (All-Ireland final)

2002: Galway 0-21 Cork 1-9 (All-Ireland qualifier)

1990: Cork 5-15 Galway 2-21 (All-Ireland final)

1986: Cork 4-13 Galway 2-15 (All-Ireland final)

Last Championship Clash

Cork 0-23 Galway 2-15 (2008 All-Ireland qualifiers, July 19th, Thurles) Joe Canning scored 2-12 for Galway but it wasn’t enough to stop Cork advancing.

They had goalkeeper, Donal Og Cusack sent off in the first half but showed remarkable courage to win by two points in a game where Ben O’Connor scored 0-12, Joe Deane 0-4 and Cathal Naughton 0-3 for the winners.